Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / World Off Road

Author
Message
TheComet
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 23:17
Looking great C0wbox! Keep it up!

TheComet

C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 14th Jan 2011 23:35 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 00:22
Here's a proper picture of what the new Blade looks like (with new wheels)


@ Dark basic dude79
Yeah the singleplayer will have an ingame menu that pauses the game but will act how menus do in multiplayer as well (keeping play going behind it).

Attachments

Login to view attachments
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 00:28 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 00:28
Screenshot 2


Attachments

Login to view attachments
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 01:01 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 01:18
Official screenshots of Blade:


Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 05:15
Wait, if i drive the blade will i roll with a Badweek??




Haha i made that one up on the spot!

C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 05:47 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 05:49
:o

I don't get it



Either way, all the tires are by Badweek, you just can't tell on the other models because I textured em. (This is the first of the v0.19 cars to receive proper texturing and modelling.)

Most of the old v0.17 models had Badweeks.

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 07:19
Well, kinda like you would have to roll with the punches as they say, and the car is rolling with badweek tires!

C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 07:22
I've never heard anyone say "roll with the punches" in the 18 years I've been listening to humans interact. xD

But I suppose if it is really something people say then yeah, it is a good joke.

xD

JLMoondog
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 15:09
Hey a fellow TS user. Good stuff.


The Slayer
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2009
Playing: (Hide and) Seek and Destroy on my guitar!
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 17:24
Quote: "That car looks SWEET!"

Sorry about the late reply, Dark basic dude79, but thanks!

Quote: "Hey a fellow TS user. Good stuff."

Glad that you like it, Josh!
Yep, I've been using TS for quite some time, along with other modellers. All of them have their good and bad points. But, I still prefer Truespace.
Which version are you using? The latest one?

BTW, what do you guyz think of the new song by me? It's the one called 'World Of Metal' by Dark Seignior (my 'bandname').

SLAYER RULES! YEAH, MAN!!
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 17:40 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 17:44
Edit:

Didnt realize it went to a new page and thought it wasnt posting so the message below is a duplicate of what this was

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 17:43
@The Slayer Sure!

@C0wbox It means to go with the flow, hmmm... That must not be a saying said in the UK then. Weeel they say it here Colorado!

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 20th Jan 2011 10:43
Loving the new tracks. Keep up the good work C0wbox!

Ermes
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2003
Location: ITALIA
Posted: 20th Jan 2011 17:01
C0wbox, i like the way you made the grounds of the tracks.

i'm not good making terrains, there is some advice you can give me or some tutorial i've to read?
i came with zero knowledge on terrains.



[img][/img]
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 01:08
I didn't really have any knowledge either, I just bought T.ED and taught myself as I went.

(Hence why I've now redone the maps twice, and will be doing them all a 3rd time before WOR is finished. )

Southside Games
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2010
Location: Don\'t tell me what to do!
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 03:28
looks great man. I clicked on your banner. wish you would do a zip tho
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 03:39
Alright, when we release v0.19 I'll .RAR and .ZIP it for everyone's needs.

Ermes
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2003
Location: ITALIA
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 11:41
T.ED ... eh sorry for my lack of knowledge, but what is?
do you have a link?? thanks!!!!



[img][/img]
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 11:51 Edited at: 21st Jan 2011 11:53
!

T.ED Professional Terrain and Environment Editor


It's a horrible TGC product that I wouldn't recommend to anyone in a million years, but now I've learnt how to deal with all its stupid faults I can use it just about successfully. xD

Ermes
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2003
Location: ITALIA
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 12:04
ah! thanks!



[img][/img]
swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 16:03
Doesn't T.ED limit terrain size and texture size to some really low level?

swis
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 21st Jan 2011 19:18
Nope, I'm exporting my terrain textures to 1024x1024 and you can some stupidly large terrains with it. !

C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 22nd Jan 2011 05:05 Edited at: 22nd Jan 2011 05:06
!!!

Serial Velocity finished the new Soharix-global-super-duper-awesome-magic-do-everything-you'd-ever-want-except-shadows shader and now the cars get dirtier as you race. But don't worry because you can drive through a puddle and it'll clean them off, making them all shiny again.

The shader can do a lot more than this, but it's not being used for anything more special than that in WOR.

Pix!

Notice how in the splitscreen one, when Blade drove through the water it lost all its dirts and gained some shine, while Monster's just hangin' back being all manky.

Just noticed:
It looks a little cheesey on the Happy races, so I'll get some more pics eventually of the other cars and other dirt overlays.

swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jan 2011 16:39 Edited at: 22nd Jan 2011 16:42
Cool, maybe you should increase the strength of the effect though...

I can't resist posting at least 1 picture of Dirt 2 now...
http://lh6.ggpht.com/_oaD_dxJFZmw/Sz7rrZkSpjI/AAAAAAAAEJ4/JKFhrQi704U/dirt2_game%202009-12-17%2019-22-25-57%5B2%5D.jpg
This isn't the best picture, but you can really see the dirt buildup.

EDIT: Image wasn't working so I made it a link
EDIT2: Which also isn't working , oh well, copy and paste I guess.

swis
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 23rd Jan 2011 03:27
Yeah it's early days yet, I'm not even using the dirt mask I want to yet.

Those pics were just to show we've got dirt now.

Ermes
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2003
Location: ITALIA
Posted: 24th Jan 2011 18:54
!!!!!!!!!!!!! a dirt making shader!!!!! GREAT!



[img][/img]
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 25th Jan 2011 03:35
That is TOTALLY SWEET AND IS AWESOME man!!!! Haha i really like how the puddles clean it off! Nice work, man!

The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory.
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 25th Jan 2011 08:57
Well, I'm GLaD that part of the shader is working, the other part (the main part) is temporarily broken.

Serial Velocity is currently trying to fix it but may require help from Green Gandalf, Diggsey or Evolved if he can't find a solution.

C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 25th Jan 2011 15:08 Edited at: 25th Jan 2011 15:08
New pics !
(I replaced the 2 pictures showing off the dirt overlay because we redid some textures and they look 10 times better now.)



Serial Velocity
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2011 13:40
Loving the screenshots of the new dirt on cars. We've fixed the issue with the other objects so it looks great now.

C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 27th Jan 2011 14:03
I love that he's not lying. ^

WOR looks insane now we've got that working. Just compare screenshot 66 and 82 here:




Oh and here are the rest of the screenshots:


swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2011 23:12

...
...
...


When's the release date for v0.19?

swis
zzz
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 28th Jan 2011 02:32
Looks like a lot of fun!
Nice work with the dirt shader.
A small suggestion for the snow levels though; try colouring the shadows on the snow with a hint of blue, usually tends to look nice on snow.

C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 28th Jan 2011 09:25 Edited at: 28th Jan 2011 10:56
@ Everyone
I can't release any more versions of WOR until the current problem (that appeared last night) is fixed. - It seems whenever you quit to go back to the main menu, DarkPhysics throws a hissy fit and breaks the game 50% of the time. - Sometimes it'll work, other times it won't and it bares no relation to any of the things going on in the game. - You can recreate exactly the same circumstances and it may do the same as it did last time or it may not. It's also not a proper error report that I can trace to anything, it's just a program has stopped working box with the good old send error report/don't send error report thing so I've got nothing to go on.

Production on WOR is suspended until someone can find me a solution.

EDIT - I just managed to receive the error driving around a map as anyone would. - It seems after restarting the engine on a new map, all hell breaks loose and a memory leak/overflow could occur anywhere at any time after that point.

@ swissolo
Never, unless someone can find a fix for the current DarkPhysics problem I'm getting.

@ zzz
I'll look into it.

swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 29th Jan 2011 16:16
Well, what do you do when you return to the menu?
Cut Dark Physics?
Leave it running?

Quote: "It seems after restarting the engine on a new map..."

If you do end DP try just leaving it running, assuming restarting's the problem.

Whatever it is I'd try the opposite. I can't tell much without looking into it, so this may be a total waste of a post.
...
On another note, I've gotten working shock-absorbers in DP before, although it's a little, well, you'll see if you want to look into it. Lets just leave it with the word messy. (works well though!)

swis
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 29th Jan 2011 17:40 Edited at: 29th Jan 2011 17:43
@ swissolo
The problem was in the commands phy delete rigid body and phy clear which I'd be using in either case (I tried ending the engine as well as leaving it running, it crashed on both)

Regardless, I've received an offer to use someone else's PhysX wrapper so we'll be looking into that for v0.19.

Unless this new PhysX wrapper comes with an easy way to do suspension the cars will just stay as they are; it's not too difficult to control them, you just have to not drive into big bumps with them.



Other good newses:
* Bitmap fonts !!! (They're .pngs really, because they're using transparency)
* Crunch !!!

* Solved all the stoopid bugs where things weren't getting included with the .exe (it was never doing it in the first place, it just makes you think that's what it was doing but leaves it all exactly where it was. xD)

swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 29th Jan 2011 17:48 Edited at: 29th Jan 2011 17:50
We'll, I'll just asume you know what you're doing and have tried everything.
Quote: "Regardless, I've received an offer to use someone else's PhysX wrapper so we'll be looking into that for v0.19."

There's other ones! I'd be really interested in that, since I'm using DP in my current project. Why couldn't TGC do a better job of wrapping it? Tell me how it goes.

swis
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 29th Jan 2011 17:54 Edited at: 29th Jan 2011 17:54
You'll all get to see how it goes when we finally get round to v0.19.

Because if v0.19 comes out, the other PhysX wrapper will have been a success.

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 30th Jan 2011 07:02
Nice progress man!!

I personally never even think of using PhysX, I would prefer to hard code in the math any old day... Also, PhysX won't run on my computer

Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it.
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 30th Jan 2011 09:34 Edited at: 30th Jan 2011 09:40
@ Dark basic dude79
Yeah I feel the same way about AI that you do about physics, so I can sympathize, but physics just isn't for me.

I will always use physics engines but always hand-code my AI. (Other people are the other way around and some people use engines for both. xD)

Also, the next version of WOR will come with the DLLs required to run it so you'll only need to update your PhysX drivers if you need GPU support. - Meaning it should work on everyone's computers with any luck.

Infact, I've uploaded a little test for everyone to run now I've established this new engine will cope with deleting and re-making the scene. (The problem DarkPhysics couldn't overcome.)


Just press space to delete and re-create the random blocks on that scene. This is something DarkPhysics would have a fit trying to achieve. xD (Can people tell me if they experience any problems with this little test at all - i.e. DLLs not working or the scene crashing when it gets remade. - If it all works for everyone, WOR is a go for launch, just as soon as we get the rest of the commands we need.)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 30th Jan 2011 17:45
Quote: "I will always use physics engines but always hand-code my AI. (Other people are the other way around and some people use engines for both. xD)"

Same deal for me. All of the physics coding would just be too much work and less accurate. PhysX is pretty powerful already, and as far as AI, it's never crossed my mind not to code it from scratch. AI is my "thing" though, so I'm not sure I count.

Oh, and the example works. Whatever you're using seems really promising because...
Quote: "Also, the next version of WOR will come with the DLLs required to run it so you'll only need to update your PhysX drivers if you need GPU support. - Meaning it should work on everyone's computers with any luck. "


Really hope it works out well!

swis
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 30th Jan 2011 18:05 Edited at: 30th Jan 2011 18:14
!

Good stuff.

EDIT:

Also, while I'm at it I may as well post this here:



For anyone who wants to help, we need a new signature/banner for World Off Road; the old one under this post is a bit out dated but still looks kinda cool.

If you wanna help, just post a signature of the same size here. - You can use your own screenshots or screenshots from the first post, I don't mind. - If I get multiple entries I'll just pick the one I like the most. (For those entering, can you try and keep it a similar style to the current one. It just needs updating, that's all.)

EDIT2:
I also realised the actual icon the .exe uses is also out of date, so if people wanna remake that instead/as well we could do with a new one. xD

Something similar in design to this would be good, just without an old dis-used car in it this time:


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 31st Jan 2011 05:46 Edited at: 31st Jan 2011 06:03
Works awesome for me! I'll be working on something more in the way of text on a transparency so your someone else could put on top of the mane image, i'll edit in when done

Ok, that was quick, only 15 min, but here it is:



I tried to follow the text of the current one.

Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
sic1ne
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 31st Jan 2011 08:59
this is awsome great work!

[img]http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/6489/sic1ne.jpg
[/img]
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 31st Jan 2011 10:10 Edited at: 31st Jan 2011 17:19
@ Dark basic dude79
! That looks awesome. Stick a circley logo thing next to it and it can be World Off Road's official logo/title. (Although I'll need a much bigger version if I'm to use it ingame.)



Random screenshot dump:


Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 31st Jan 2011 23:55 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 00:57
Here tis!



[center][/center]



Well this looks a lot better!

Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 00:20
xD

Also see if you can sort out the chopping a the bottom of the circle.

Stick it on some WOR screenshots like that old signature and I'll use it.

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 00:30 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 00:32
Ok, here is the full larger logo!



[center][/center]


Wasn't exactly the most sure where to put some layers, so I'd be happy to give you the xcf file if you'd like


I will try and figure that out, ill just edit the original post

Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
C0wbox
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: 0,50,-150
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 00:44 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 00:45
Well, save me the trouble of getting it wrong (I suck with Gimp) I reckon it'd look better with the word Off in the same font and colour as Road, like it was before and have the letters positioned precisely how they are in relation to the logo in my signature.

That way everything's consistent and it's just a logo upgrade.

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 1st Feb 2011 01:00 Edited at: 1st Feb 2011 05:42
Alright, i finished the sig! I can line them up, just a couple questions to ask before i do: can the Off Road part be placed below the circle's center line, and what color would you like the Off Road part to be??


Well here is what i came up with so far:

[center][/center]

Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it.

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-02-08 07:25:58
Your offset time is: 2023-02-08 07:25:58