Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Chat / [STICKY] v2 Feature Requests

Author
Message
Impetus73
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 7th Dec 2014 12:11
I guess Paul is having nightmares about this thread, if he even reads it. I guess his to do list would be long as a toilet roll if he were to implement it all.

----------------
AGK programmer
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's.
Jambo B
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Sep 2009
Location: The Pit
Posted: 7th Dec 2014 12:33
Something very useful would be to have the 'Export Project -> As iOS IPA' dialog save its contents when you click export, to save you from typing them each time.

By the way, I am LOVING the export to IPA thing. So easy to get the app installed and running on the actual iOS hardware. Marvellous stuff.

James
Arbrakan
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2010
Location: Geneva
Posted: 7th Dec 2014 16:17
Get a object width and height would be useful.

GetObjectWidth()
GetObjectHeight()

Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 9th Dec 2014 08:03
Some other small, but useful ideas:

SetCursorVisible() would be nice for windows versions of our apps either to simply hide it or for us to use a custom cursor.

It would also be great if the array functions (length, sort, etc.) auto populated like the other built in commands do.

Duffer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 9th Dec 2014 08:39
@ Naphier & Impetus73,

Suspect you're both right here. I just have to wait patiently until all the main stuff is implemented and then hope (on my soapbox) that Paul and TGC see the sense in quickly implementing Sqlite3 functionality - as most mobile apps make use of it.

So, fingers crossed.

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 9th Dec 2014 09:22
Ched80 - It's already there: SetRawMouseVisible()

-- Jim - When is there going to be a release?
Ched80
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 9th Dec 2014 09:36
Cheers Jim, can't believe I didn't spot that!

Dave47
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2014
Location:
Posted: 14th Dec 2014 20:57
Will we ever get a concave Sprite Shape?
JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 14th Dec 2014 23:17
No. OpenGL doesn't like it.

-- Jim - When is there going to be a release?
Humanoid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Finland
Posted: 21st Dec 2014 20:50
Controlled Webview. Allow run website inside app

gwheycs62egydws
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 21st Dec 2014 21:32 Edited at: 21st Dec 2014 21:32
if the following has not been suggested it would be nice to have

to be able to test a peace of code with out making a file for it

to get back a variable information if some thing dose not show up correctly

in Quick Basic there was a section below ware you could type in
a name of variable and it would tell you what the number was

it would be nice if the message windows would not shrink to the bottom
a check setting would be help full

if there is a setting for that i can't seem to see it

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Gluos
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posted: 28th Dec 2014 21:34
I think a command to access a device's clipboard through edit boxes would make a nice addition.
paulrobson
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2014
Location: Norfolk, England
Posted: 29th Dec 2014 18:42
The problem is that AppGameKit is a proper compiler, to a bytecode. Most early BASICs had the interpreter built in, so they had the complete state available. AppGameKit would probably have to include debug information in the bytecode - what line number it is, what globals and locals are currently in scope, and send this back to the IDE. It's not difficult but it's non trivial unfortunately.

There could be a case as a starter for improving the logging so it can send stuff back to the command line window. Print() at the moment prints to the actual display which makes things slightly messier. Assert() would be nice as well.
JulesD
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Feb 2005
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2014 20:46
I would like to be able to place the pointer.\

Such as SetPointerX AND SetPointerY
or SetPointer(int X,GetPointerY())
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
Silver Codemaster
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2009
Location: Inside the box
Posted: 30th Dec 2014 17:19
Quote: "I would like to be able to place the pointer.\

Such as SetPointerX AND SetPointerY
or SetPointer(int X,GetPointerY()) "


SetRawMousePosition()
Duffer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 30th Dec 2014 19:30
@ Naphier,

With Sqlite3 as a proposed feature request, I have provided some suggested functions/commands earlier in this thread but wish to emphasise that the really great thing would be putting memblocks in to a Sqlite3 database as blobs and pulling blobs out in to memblocks....

Also, if possible, the Sqlite3 feature/addition should include the Sqlite3 free add-on allowing for AES encrytion/decryption of Sqlite3 databases. That would be fantastic and it would allow for total security for game assets...

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
CodeMonkey
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2013
Location: Ireland
Posted: 31st Dec 2014 00:04
Version 2 seems to have slowed down considerably when it comes to loading 3D objects. Will this be improved on?
MASTER OF PUPPETS
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2004
Location: Trapped Under Ice
Posted: 3rd Jan 2015 01:09 Edited at: 4th Jan 2015 03:11
*Whoops*

|,,|, (Dead Knot Broken) ,|,,|
MASTER OF PUPPETS
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2004
Location: Trapped Under Ice
Posted: 3rd Jan 2015 02:35
I may have missed it on the list, but I'd certainly like to see phone vibration implemented.

For example:

SetRawVibrateOn( intensity as float , duration as float )

GetRawVibrateOn()
GetRawVibrateSupported()

Etc.

|,,|, (Dead Knot Broken) ,|,,|
AJCodes
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2015 05:01
Feature requests:

1. Improve the joystick read functions, if possible. Currently can't see many of the thrustmaster buttons and axis controls.

2. Not sure if this is a bug or not but 3D collision testing doesn't work with scaled objects.

3. I second the motion for GetObjectXSize(), ...YSize(), ZSize(), etc.

4. Vector and matrix types (2, 3, 4D). Associated functions.

5. Would LOVE built in, optimized function for doing things like rotating one 3D object around another and sticking one item to another at a given point such that the child inherits the parent rotation and translation.

6. Similar to virtual buttons and joysticks...sliders.

7. Native swipe functions. I know we can do it ourselves, but it'd be a great feature to include in the "Raw" section. Same with zoom in/out and other common touch gestures.

8. Built-in shadow shader or...LOTS more examples of what's possible. Would love one generic shader with switches to enable certain functions. Basic normal, shadow, displacement...essentially take the outputs of something like Substance Painter and code a shader to handle the textures.


I'm sure I'll have more. I've had this tool for about two months and I've already released one android app. Working on a couple more games soon to have screenshots in the showcase forum.

Amazing tool.

Born. Currently living.
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 6th Jan 2015 05:05
Quote: "5. Would LOVE built in, optimized function for doing things like rotating one 3D object around another and sticking one item to another at a given point such that the child inherits the parent rotation and translation."


Mmm, hierarchical 3D would be awesome Potentially confusing for noobs to programming (speaking from experience), but awesome for experienced programmers

baxslash
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 6th Jan 2015 09:55
Quote: "5. Would LOVE built in, optimized function for doing things like rotating one 3D object around another and sticking one item to another at a given point such that the child inherits the parent rotation and translation."

Sounds like EZrotate

DavidAGK
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2015 17:01
Rather than a single "clear color" it would be cool to be able to stipulate a "clear gradient" and have AppGameKit create it in a processor efficient way. Just thinking that currently I'm using big sprites to simply create a gradient backdrop and I'm sure that there is a more processor efficient way to do it at a lower level (hitting the metal!) than in Tier1!
AreCustomize
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Dec 2013
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 6th Jan 2015 21:00 Edited at: 7th Jan 2015 17:32
Immersive/Fullscreen Mode for Android would be great. For AppGameKit V1 too. It would look like much better without black navigation bar.
Van B
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 7th Jan 2015 00:01
An execute command for opening files on Android would be awesome... like being able to open a .PDF file through Adobe Reader.

I am the one who knocks...
gwheycs62egydws
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 7th Jan 2015 00:12
i am guessing right now all the ability of AppGameKit are built in ?

(as in there is not out side file loaded to do a function )

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
george++
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Hellas
Posted: 7th Jan 2015 14:19
I don't know if this is possible but It would be nice if I could declare and implement functions with the same name but with different arguments
ie:


and

JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 7th Jan 2015 16:00
Happy Christmas, George!

Function Overloading is an Object Orientated thing, and not possible in the non-OOP world of AppGameKit, unfortunately.

I suggest using very close naming like GetDistance2D() and GetDistance3D()

Onwards and sometimes upwards
george++
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Hellas
Posted: 7th Jan 2015 19:36
Happy Christmas Jim!
Because I am a c++ guy, I always missing some OOP features when programming in AppGameKit
Anyway thanks for the tip!
MASTER OF PUPPETS
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2004
Location: Trapped Under Ice
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 06:50
@ george++
I like that idea a lot. I would personally like to see this feature as well. If this were implemented, I would like there to be a method to turn the feature ON or OFF though (think "option_explicit#"). I wouldn't want to ACCIDENTALLY duplicate a function without the compiler throwing an error. That could become a debugging nightmare fast!

|,,|, (Dead Knot Broken) ,|,,|
baxslash
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 13:50
Function overloading would not be impossible in Tier 1 surely? If it's possible in all of the native languages then it should be possible for the compiler to detect and compile it.

I do think that function overloading would be nice but it's a long way down my list. I'd rather have a full set of commands for Box2D and Spine first personally.

JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 15:14
Yes - but like proper OOP it would need some serious compiler changes.

Onwards and sometimes upwards
White knight
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Jan 2015 22:30 Edited at: 9th Jan 2015 22:32
mono support and c# in tier 1
ability to add languages
like vbscript simular to unity3d http://unity3d.com

new learning center comming soon http://911.bounceme.net/
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 10th Jan 2015 00:18
Quote: "mono support and c# in tier 1
ability to add languages
like vbscript simular to unity3d http://unity3d.com"


lol yeah right!

SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 13th Jan 2015 11:24
I would like better bitmap features like DBPro to take away all the hard work of having to use memblock away.
Eg to test a pixel on a loaded image for its colour value, command should be
Point (x,y)
also better displaying of bitmap to use as background images instead of converting to large sprite, just something like
DisplayImage (imID, screen)
with screen being the back buffer or something.

If there is an easy way to do this already then sorry but I am new to AGK.

Thanks

Background:
AMOS on the AMIGA!
CJB
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2015 14:12
I haven't read through the entire thread (sorry), but I'd like to see standalone Windows executables. With or without embedded media. Doesn't have to be anything fancy. I'd expect it would be simple to append the bytecode to the existing player, and instead of opening a seperate bytecode file, it could just fseek to the start of the bytecode in the exe.

V2 T1 (Mostly)
Uzmadesign
gwheycs62egydws
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 14th Jan 2015 18:14
@CJB

it dose make a windows exe but as far seen there is no way of embedding the media in the exe at this point

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
janbo
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 15th Jan 2015 22:30
A 3D version of the great particle system would be great...
For me it's very important!

So plz add 3D Particle System.


Using AppGameKit V2 Tier1
Ranietz
AGK Gold Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posted: 16th Jan 2015 18:04
Feature request: Pass variables as reference to functions

Since we are now able to pass types and arrays as reference to functions it would be great if we also could pass variables as reference to functions. It would solve the problem with functions only returning one variable and make our functions more modular.

It could work something like this:
JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 16th Jan 2015 18:57 Edited at: 16th Jan 2015 18:58
You can do it. Just declare a type:

type MyInt
ival as integer
endtype

Function Swap(a ref as MyInt, b ref as MyInt)
temp as integer

temp = a.ival
a.ival = b.ival
b.ival = temp
endfunction

x as MyInt
y as Myint

x.ival = 24
y.ival = 97

Swap(x,y)

Onwards and sometimes upwards
Ranietz
AGK Gold Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posted: 16th Jan 2015 19:36
Thanks JimHawkins. It didn't occur to me to do it like that.

It does however seem like a bit of a hassle to make all the variables you might need to use into a type and I don't think it works with variables within arrays and larger types.

The following would not work:


It's a start however.
DavidAGK
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 16th Jan 2015 21:45 Edited at: 16th Jan 2015 21:48
Know almost nothing about it but database support (SQLLite?) would be useful for some work related projects I have in mind...Only so far I could go with text files!

Aah! I see many others requesting it and it's on the list: List
JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 17th Jan 2015 00:31
@Ranietz - I just checked and you can certainly do what you want in Pascal. It seems to be a little bit harder in AppGameKit Basic with multi-dimensional arrays.

All good reasons, of course, to use AppGameKit for Pascal, which is wondrously free, and currently at V108!

Onwards and sometimes upwards
JohnStabler
AGK Bronze Backer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2013
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 09:31
How about an expression evaluation function so we can take a string "10*5" and calculate the result?

This would be a great help to people who want to add some kind of scripting to their games and I'm sure you already use such functions so it would be reasonably easy to wrap them.
paulrobson
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2014
Location: Norfolk, England
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 10:32
Expression evaluation would be quite difficult to do because the AppGameKit Bytecode doesn't contain variable information (I think !), so you could only do numeric constants. Writing a recursive descent evaluator wouldn't be that difficult anyway, or to make it even easier you could use RPN or abandon operator precedence.
JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 10:58 Edited at: 20th Jan 2015 11:01
Dare I mention Lua, yet again???????

I'd be happy with RPN - having written several Forth implementations - but I think it might scare some people to see "27 33 +"

Onwards and sometimes upwards
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 11:35
Quote: "Dare I mention Lua, yet again???????

I'd be happy with RPN - having written several Forth implementations - but I think it might scare some people to see "27 33 +""


+1 to Lua. I have no idea what RPN is, so I can only assume that means effectively "Inputs 27 and 33, add them".

JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 12:18 Edited at: 20th Jan 2015 12:20
Reverse Polish Notation. Forth is the main language.

RPN is evaluated strictly left to right. There is a data stack, which is in an array (or more strictly, a last-in first-out queue).

Numbers are pushed onto the stack in order in which they are encountered, so if we have tokens 27 33 the stack looks like this:

- 33 // top stack - known as TOS
- 27

Operators pop things from the stack and do something with them, so + in the example will pop two values, add them, and then push the result onto the stack:

- 60

There are many stack operators which manipulate the stack. We could define a new "word" using the definition introducer :

: SQUARED DUP * ;

We could then have: 2 SQUARED
This would push a 2 onto the stack, push a copy of the TOS value onto the stack, multiply the two values on the stack and push the result onto the stack.

Without going into too much detail, the system consists of a Dictionary (the keywords or defined words, a Code Area, which contains what the words in the dictionary do, a Data Stack (as above) and a Return Stack, which goes back to the point where a new word was executed (think gosub and return).

Finally - if an unknown word is used (such as 23) the interpreter attempts to convert it to a number.

It would be fairly easy to make a simple system for AppGameKit T1. But actually I think for most people it would be better to have the Basic compiler (optionally) built into the run-time system, so that scripts could be parsed, compiled and executed.

Onwards and sometimes upwards
paulrobson
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2014
Location: Norfolk, England
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 15:08
I don't think they're going to do lua whatever you do I think its in the FAQ.

Likewise putting the compiler into the runtime probably isn't going to happen either. The VM from what I've seen of it is very very static. It can't (at present) do function indirection for example.
JimHawkins
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 15:42
Ironically, FPSCR is highly Lua-based.

Onwards and sometimes upwards

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-02-20 18:34:06
Your offset time is: 2019-02-20 18:34:06