Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / IonRay IDE - A DBpro Editor by Xolatron

Author
Message
Keaz
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere in south Texas
Posted: 7th Aug 2005 19:55 Edited at: 7th Aug 2005 20:19
You can also use a value of 0 to not pause and simply give other apps first priority. Then your only using CPU idle time(Time that normally would go to the Idle process so there will still be 100% cpu usage). With pauses of longer than 0 you take away some of your apps responsiveness the higher the number the less responsive, the positive is that while a value of 1 doesn't take much responsiveness it give most of the clock cycles back to the system. If you want low cpu usage use 1 if you just want a multi-takser freindly app use 0.

Personally I'd suggest 1.

Breaking Stuff=Fun!,Bug Testing<>Fun!, Bug Testing=Breaking Stuff, so...
Bug Testing=Fun! Hmmmm....
DOES NOT COMPUTE! SYSTEM MALFUNTION!
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 10th Aug 2005 23:47
Interesting Keaz, so that's why sleep_CPU(1) reduces CPU usage by such a large amount.

Progress Update:
I've been working on two things recently:

- Tabbed project settings. Project properties will now be in a tabbed layout, similar to the design of the Original IDE. This is making IonRay look much nicer, and I am quite pleased with it. Thanks for this Raven .

- New Project Creation (almost done, but delayed due to tabbed project layout having a higher priority


I'll release new screens and such when 'tabbed project settings' is finished.

-Xol

Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 13th Aug 2005 02:27
OK, finished the tabbed project interface. Still having a few new project issues, though. Attached is a screenshot of the new interface; hope everyone likes it!

Sorry it's in GIF format - I know, it messed up the colors quite a bit

-Xol

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 14th Aug 2005 00:14 Edited at: 14th Aug 2005 00:18
OK, new project creation is basically finished. A few small features to add remain, but IonRay IDE can create a new project from a template and has name replacement (%name% in the source/project/filename will be renamed to the project's name )

Here is a picture of the new created project test12. I went to some work to convert this to .png, so you can see a much clearer image than even the first jpegs.

[EDIT: included the new file dialog box in the screenshot]

-Xol

Attachments

Login to view attachments
It Wasnt Me
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the fried eggnog pudding is
Posted: 14th Aug 2005 02:35 Edited at: 14th Aug 2005 03:01
That looks great! Keep it up! I'd be interested in trying it out when it's ready? Testing? Whatever?

Anyway, good luck!

If it was me, I wouldn't know it.
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 14th Aug 2005 03:41
Sure. I'll probably post a demo once I finish the small stuff for new project creation.

-Xol

Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 14th Aug 2005 21:40 Edited at: 16th Aug 2005 23:00
Beta demo available See the top post. Version 0.1.0.0

Hope everyone likes it

-Xol

Cryptoman
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2003
Location: Utah Mountains
Posted: 15th Aug 2005 03:31
When will you open this up? I want to help on this. Nice gui by the way. Msn me or Yabooger me if you want help.


Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 15th Aug 2005 18:38
Didn't know anyone was really interested in the code. I guess I'll just clean it up a bit (it's still using some outdated code that should be replaced by simpler code, then I'll release it. Glad to hear you're interested.

-Xol

It Wasnt Me
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the fried eggnog pudding is
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 02:59 Edited at: 16th Aug 2005 03:11
It's looking great!
I haven't explored the whole thing, but I can definitely tell that I can't wait until the save and compilation features are done.

Just a question, and it's probably obvious to everyone else and i'm just missing it, but why, when you click on the next right tab in the editor, do you lose a line number? I don't know, it just seemed a little strange. It probably has something to do with spliting up the source, but when I typed a few lines and switched to another tab I couldn't see the lines I typed in the first tab, but please explain if I am just being stupid.

Also, when I loaded a project, it took switching to another tab and back (it seemed like a few times) to get it to kick in.

If it was me, I wouldn't know it.
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 03:09
Quote: " can't wait until the load/save"

Actually, loading does work; try it

Quote: "why, when you click on the next right tab in the editor, do you lose a line number?"

Dynamic line numbering: IonRay uses the same line numbering as the Compiler does. Because the compiler takes the source as one file that has all of the dbas in it, each source will continue from the line numbering of the previous source. No suorce can have less than one line in it, even if it is blank. Try typing a few lines into the variables tab. Then click on the setup tab and the numbering ill begin at whatever you ended on in variables, +1. Because of all this, when the compiler reports line 2386 has an error (runtime errors especially), you can find the correct line in your program. (for compile-time errors, IonRay will scroll to the error line).

-Xol

It Wasnt Me
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the fried eggnog pudding is
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 03:12 Edited at: 16th Aug 2005 03:17
1. Actually I found that out. (See my edited post.)

2. I see. Cool.

If it was me, I wouldn't know it.
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 04:26
Glad you're interested

-Xol

Vues3d on Kalimee
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2004
Location: NYON (SWITZERLAND)
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 13:02
Seems that is quite a good editor...
Awaiting for the final demo or release..

don't know if the feature is implemented or not but do you plan a function that handles the variables such as VB do? I explain:

If I write a Variable ex. ObjectNumber then, in the program I write down again objectnumber, the last written sould be rewritten such as the first one ObjectNumber, in this case this means that I have written it right... This is quite an auto control because if nothing happens this means I've written it wrong & I have to check the spelling... (Hope you see what I mean...)

Guido
http://www.vues3d.com
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 21:44
Yes, I see what you mean. I think BlueIDE does this. I will try to implement it

-Xol

Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 19th Aug 2005 01:37 Edited at: 20th Aug 2005 01:57
OK, for those who are interested, attached is all necessary source+project files, except those included in the demo download.

BLUEGUI IS NEEDED for this code to compile.

Extract this and the demo to the folder DBPpathIonRay
Note: this source needs the demo download to work.
Download the IonRay IDE demo 0.1.0.0
Download the IonRay IDE source 0.1.0.0

Feel free to fiddle with the code. Please post if you make anything useful

Note that it is still recommended to use the compiled version.

-Xol

Attachments

Login to view attachments
xtom
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Ireland
Posted: 19th Aug 2005 20:39
Great work, it's turning out really good. I like the way you have the line numbering carry over to the different includes. Should make finding bugs easier. Don't forget to add a color picker, I think on the right click menu is the best place for it.

Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 19th Aug 2005 21:27
Of course . I've planned for a color picker all along. It will have an option to insert the color in RGB(_,_,_) format, RGBA(_,_,_,_) format (this command will be added), or colorVal format (the DBpro color number such as 107824 that represents all red, green, and blue together.

Thanks for your input ; glad you like it

-Xol

Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 19th Aug 2005 21:56
Xolatron send me an email so I can send you an urgent message.

Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 20th Aug 2005 02:00
Great. Fixed that earlier but it got messed up because of the zip file. Thanks Lost in Thought . I trust that this thread isn't read enough to really be important .

(I didn't send you an email - realized what you meant; thanks)

That is fixed now.

Thanks again,

-Xol

Lost in Thought
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 20th Aug 2005 04:35
As long as it is fixed

Cryptoman
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2003
Location: Utah Mountains
Posted: 20th Aug 2005 06:03
Yes, great work, and thanks for releasing. You better the education on these forums.


Community projects educate people.


re faze
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2004
Location: The shores of hell.
Posted: 20th Aug 2005 18:30 Edited at: 20th Aug 2005 18:33
writing memory to an area not previously allocated is irresponsible, and dangerous. even if you know where something is, you shouldnt change it in this manner anyway also this ide too closely resembles twilight

"I am what I am and that is all I can be -J King"
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 20th Aug 2005 18:36 Edited at: 20th Aug 2005 21:28
Are you referring to the use of pointers to store a string (passed to User32.dll)? If so, I did this completely safely. It has been allocated with 'make memory' and is safely deleted after it is used. Basically, it uses my set of commands that make simple memblocks without dragging in all the 3D dlls (which would multiply the exe size by 4 at the least).

Thanks Cryptoman, I'm glad to release it's source

I've updated my sig, although I think that's clear just from looking down an inch

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Darkbasic MADPSP
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 19:56
can you o back to the original editor?

Love games go to http://www.freewebs.com/halorc
or
http://www.freewebs.com/gamersmad
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 20:15
If you mean whether IonRay IDE's project save files are compatible with the original IDE, then yes . IonRay Projects will compile fine from the Original IDE. However, some extended functions that haven't been yet added wil not work with the Original IDE: addec commands and not overwriting the arrow/timer cursors.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Darkbasic MADPSP
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 20:31
So this includes the hidden commands?

Love games go to http://www.freewebs.com/halorc
or
http://www.freewebs.com/gamersmad
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 21:06
Not exactly what I was saying. Any IDE can use undocumented commands, whether or not they are highlighted. I was referring to a set of functions, most of which I intend to implement into IonRay as commands. IonRay will include them if they are used. Also, the underscores ('_'s) will be replaced with spaces.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
_Static_
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2005
Location: Virginia, U.S.A.
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 21:27
umm, is that just a previeor osmething, i put thsi in the main soruc

print "dope"
wait key

and press compile nothing happened?

if this is just a work in progress, then keep it up, this looks really promising
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 21:42 Edited at: 21st Aug 2005 21:42
Yes, it doesn't compile or save yet .
That's why it's in the Work in Progress board, and also why it's Demo 0.1.0.0

Quote: "keep it up, this looks really promising"

Thanks, I will

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Darkbasic MADPSP
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 22:20
this is freeware because i would like to help improve it and help make it as well let me know if you want my e-mail

Love games go to http://www.freewebs.com/halorc
or
http://www.freewebs.com/gamersmad
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 21st Aug 2005 22:34
Yes, this is freeware. If you want to contribute download the demo and source and put them in the folder DBPpath\IonRay. See a few of my posts up ^.
Then you may change the code and post changes if you write anything that might be of value.

Thanks,

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Louiz ofRohr
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 22nd Aug 2005 21:08
Great work, Xolatron..
those tabs separating the sources were
a great idea.. congrats..

The worst foe lies within the self..
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 22nd Aug 2005 21:42
Thanks

Here's an update as to what's happening right now:

I know there hasn't been much progress during the last week; I haven't had access to the computer that has IonRay on it. I'll be able to work on it again probably tomorrow.

School is starting again, so IonRay will go a little slower, but it will still make progress.
I've done so much work on it already and will definitely continue until it is in a finished state, so that it is reasonable competition to all the other IDEs out there. Don't worry, most of my spare time will continue to go into IonRay IDE's development.

I'll probably put saving in next, and that will be needed for compiling (which should be easy after saving, a lot of the code will be the same). I might also put in a color picker soon, it should be easy.

Thanks for everyone's support ,

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 23rd Aug 2005 02:15
I put in a color picker . It works in three modes, which can be selected from the tools menu. Settings are saved on closing the program.

Modes:


If you highlight a previous color, or just other text, that will be replaced by the new color.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Nicholas Thompson
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 23rd Aug 2005 15:53
can you do HSV (or HSL/HSB... depending where your from)

My Website:
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 24th Aug 2005 02:19
I could add it if I could find out haw to calculate it. I would need to have a function to find the color from HSV or H,S, or V, from a color. I could make these if I knew they're exact relationship to RGB.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Matinuker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 31st Aug 2005 12:48
What are you codeing it in?

Looks good by the way
It Wasnt Me
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the fried eggnog pudding is
Posted: 31st Aug 2005 17:44 Edited at: 31st Aug 2005 17:47
He is coding it in DBPro I believe, using BlueGUI.

See the page before this one. (He posted the source code.)

If it was me, I wouldn't know it.
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 1st Sep 2005 00:07
Yep, that's correct Feel free to examine the source.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 8th Sep 2005 00:26 Edited at: 8th Sep 2005 02:37
I'm working on an update that will use Rob K's new BlueGUI 2.05. Because of this, the code input areas will no longer word wrap!

Saving is still a priority; I've started working on it now and am quikly getting through the project file part.

Also, I was experiencing new (I believe) bugs of the re-highlighting text after usint 'To UPPERCASE' or 'To lowercase', so I removed the selecting the previously highlighted text for now. I need to know what users would prefer. Should the text be re-highlighted after the case is changed (through the edit menu)?

Also, sorry for the lack of updates lately.

With no wordwrap, IonRay's looking very nice maximized, like a real IDE.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
xtom
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Ireland
Posted: 8th Sep 2005 13:14
I'd say keep the text highlighted until the user changes it themselves.

Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 9th Sep 2005 02:24
OK, vote one in , thanks. I'll work on this, but it's easily changed if later votes swing the other way.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 13th Sep 2005 04:18 Edited at: 17th Sep 2005 01:53
Saving is progressing far. I'm 85% done with the project file part, have the source saving done, and will probably be 95% finished by tomorrow. Unfortunately there is still the problem that "media root path" doesn't have a box, so that will make finishing saving take a little longer. I haven't tested any of this yet, but there probably won't be any hard to pin bugs.

For anyone who's interested, here is a sample IonRay save file:


There are so many IDE woks in progress that I thought it might help someone to see what's going in the other save files. I hope it's useful for someone .

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Gen
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2004
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posted: 14th Sep 2005 09:13
How is saving speed going, it seems to me DBP slow at saving...

Gen

DARK IDE RETURNS - Yes Dark IDE is still a go!!
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 15th Sep 2005 02:19
I haven't tested it yet, it is currently using a function to simple write each line to the file.

If it seems to slow I've got a backup function that is much faster but uses memblocks and will add 3 MBs to the EXE size, but if that's what it takes...

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Darkbasic MADPSP
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 19th Sep 2005 19:43
Does this replace the original ide?

New game about to be unleashed steal un theif
Dom
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Sep 2005 21:15
Only if you want it to.

"A book. I hate books. book is stupid." -- Some lame idiot
Formerly Saberdude --DFStudios--
Xolatron old
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 20th Sep 2005 00:59
The Original IDE will still remain intact and useable with IonRay installed. IonRay has it's own folder - IonRay, rather than replacing the Editor folder.

-Xol


DBpro IonRay IDE: Demo 0.1.0.0 available!
Darkbasic MADPSP
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 20th Sep 2005 18:25
You see i would like to editors thanks for telling me

New game about to be unleashed steal un theif

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-02 04:38:05
Your offset time is: 2024-03-02 04:38:05