Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / StarScape One

Author
Message
dark coder
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 08:10 Edited at: 8th Apr 2009 08:15
Here's a better version of that if you want (you're free to use it in any way you want as long as you don't say you made it and you promise to send me a box of bacon):



It looks much better now, though if you linked to some bigger images that'd be more awesome :p.

lucifer 1101
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 08:38
what does that shader do exacly im kinda new to it so its hard to understand...
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 12:03 Edited at: 8th Apr 2009 12:22
Sweet thanks dark coder, i'll give it a try

Heres a larger image:


Quote: "what does that shader do exacly im kinda new to it so its hard to understand... "

Basically it creates a shadow on the rings like in the image above.

Edit: dark coder, could you give me an example of how to use the shader code properly because when I implemented your older one from "Learning to Write Shaders" the penumbra was missing. Thanks

KISTech
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 18:44
It looks fantastic, but it needs a little ambient light. The dark side looks a bit to dark. (IMHO..)

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 18:45
Isnt there no ambient light in space anyway?

KISTech
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 19:05
There's always some light. Light from the stars, light from other planets reflected back, light reflecting off those great looking rings..

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 21:54 Edited at: 8th Apr 2009 22:02
Quote: "There's always some light. Light from the stars, light from other planets reflected back, light reflecting off those great looking rings.
"

Your right about light being reflected off the rings but for the rest of the planets, its pitch black. Take this mars photo from the Mars Express Spacecraft for example.



Mars' night side is completely black. Thanks for the crit. anyway

Quote: "great looking rings"


Thanks!

Heres another random screenshot of a ringed planet with 10 moons


dark coder
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 22:45
Quote: "Edit: dark coder, could you give me an example of how to use the shader code properly because when I implemented your older one from "Learning to Write Shaders" the penumbra was missing. Thanks"


I don't think the one posted on that thread had a penumbra, either way, my newer one does. I can give you GDK for the new one, DBPro's(I assume this project uses it?) support for vectors is annoying enough to make me not want to make an example.

It should be fairly straight forward: planetRadius and atmoRadius are DBPro world units for the radius of your planet's surface and atmosphere's inner radius(you can leave them the same). planetPenumbraRecip and atmoPenumbraRecip are the reciprocals of your penumbra widths in world units again, in the shader I use literals of 0.05f indicating penumbrae of 20 units for both the planet and atmosphere. lightToPlanet is the vector between the light and the planet(lightPos - planetPos), lenLightToPlanet is the length of said vector. lightPosition is the world position of your light source and the others are just colours.

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Apr 2009 23:11 Edited at: 8th Apr 2009 23:14
Quote: "I can give you GDK for the new one"


That would be great thanks

Quote: "It should be fairly straight forward: planetRadius and atmoRadius are DBPro world units for the radius of your planet's surface and atmosphere's inner radius(you can leave them the same). planetPenumbraRecip and atmoPenumbraRecip are the reciprocals of your penumbra widths in world units again, in the shader I use literals of 0.05f indicating penumbrae of 20 units for both the planet and atmosphere. lightToPlanet is the vector between the light and the planet(lightPos - planetPos), lenLightToPlanet is the length of said vector. lightPosition is the world position of your light source and the others are just colours."


Thanks a bunch, I understand it now. Ill post screenies when I implement it but the GDK example would really help

Lazarus_
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Apr 2009 01:56
Serial, I have a question..

how did you learn how to create the effects and environments you have in your game? I mean like - laser beams, planets, rings, ship engine exhausts. How did you learn how to do that?
dark coder
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Japan
Posted: 9th Apr 2009 08:02
Quote: "That would be great thanks"


OK but these don't use standard GDK functions(I've wrapped most of them) so I don't know what use it is:



And yea I seem to have mixed up the order of lightToPlanet.

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Apr 2009 12:15 Edited at: 7th May 2009 18:11
Quote: "how did you learn how to create the effects and environments you have in your game? I mean like - laser beams, planets, rings, ship engine exhausts. How did you learn how to do that?"


It just takes quite alot of trial and error really. I use Photoshop CS2 for all the textures and that. But most of the effects like the lazer beams, ship engines were all made using DBPro native plains with ghosted textures.

Ive actually been experimenting with the graphics since 2006 but i never did significant progress until last january


Quote: "OK but these don't use standard GDK functions(I've wrapped most of them) so I don't know what use it is:"


Thanks, that did help quite abit. When I have time I will go have a proper go at implementing it.

KISTech
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 10th Apr 2009 18:12
Quote: "Mars' night side is completely black."


Ok, fair enough.

Quote: "screenshot of a ringed planet with 10 moons "


So does any light reflect off of those moons onto the planet?

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Apr 2009 21:10 Edited at: 10th Apr 2009 21:14
Quote: "So does any light reflect off of those moons onto the planet?"


Not yet but I'm planning to use a night map shader for the moon/ring shine as only some planets have moons or rings

Gears of War
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2009
Location: Anywhere, anytime.
Posted: 10th Apr 2009 21:57
Im honored to even have the same icon as you. I have a suggestion though. In the features post, it says that when someone ranks up in multiplayer, they automaticly get a better ship. How about instead of you getting a starship, you get the abilaty to pilot the starship. You then have to use metals mined from certain colonized planets to build the starship. This comes with an added bonus. It would encourage players to explore the huge universe you have created. This would also encourage item tradeoffs (if that's possible). Great work so far. I will be downloading the demo this afternoon. Looking forward to buying this when it comes out!

With these isolated expiriments, we are not only expanding our knowledge on time, we are starting to harness it's potential. Head Reasercher before Expiriment No 52
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Apr 2009 22:06 Edited at: 10th Apr 2009 22:06
Quote: "Im honored to even have the same icon as you."


Thanks! LOL

Quote: "How about instead of you getting a starship, you get the abilaty to pilot the starship. You then have to use metals mined from certain colonized planets to build the starship."


You mean like, when someone ranks up, they are able to buy better things to build better ships? What I had planned is that the game has a credits system which can be used to buy upgrades for your ship. You get your credits from doing contracts or trading in metals mined from different places. Rarer metals get you more credits.

Quote: "Great work so far."

Thanks! These kinds of comments inspire me to work more on this

Quote: "I will be downloading the demo this afternoon."

Niceee, the demo is around 7 months old now so it does look kinda dated. Cant wait for some feedback!

Lots of quotes

Gears of War
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2009
Location: Anywhere, anytime.
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 00:55
That was cool. If you say that is dated then I can't wait to see what this demo looks like. There was one thing that kinda bugged me though. The ring on the planet was apparantly two dimentional. Other than that it looked good. The next one will have planet collision and sound. Right?

With these isolated expiriments, we are not only expanding our knowledge on time, we are starting to harness it's potential. Head Reasercher before Expiriment No 52
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 01:25 Edited at: 11th Apr 2009 01:28
Quote: "That was cool. "

Thanks

Quote: "The ring on the planet was apparantly two dimentional."

Well at the moment its just a textured plain but im working out a system so the ring plain gets replaced by a massive particle field as you get closer, like whats happening in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvm_pVvEv8A

Quote: "The next one will have planet collision and sound. Right?"

It'll definately have planet collision and I will include sound but probably no music for now (I will put music in when I learn to use Magix Music Maker 15 ). However I've coded a system where you dump your music you want to listen to into a folder called "Music". The game will then shuffle the music and play them.

Gears of War
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2009
Location: Anywhere, anytime.
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 01:44
That particle effect is realy good looking. I can see how this will provide some serious thrills. Another thing. Are you going to have established trade routes in the game. You know, like areas in space that have frequent supply ships passing through them. That would open up to many kinds of pirate work. I would think that eventualy the supply ships would gain escorts as more of them were taken out by the player. That would be awsome.

With these isolated expiriments, we are not only expanding our knowledge on time, we are starting to harness it's potential. Head Reasercher before Expiriment No 52
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 02:07
Quote: "That particle effect is realy good looking."

I know, its gunna be hard trying to recreate this in DBPro.

Quote: "You know, like areas in space that have frequent supply ships passing through them. That would open up to many kinds of pirate work. I would think that eventualy the supply ships would gain escorts as more of them were taken out by the player. That would be awsome."

Never thought of that, nice idea! Ill probably implement that

Gears of War
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2009
Location: Anywhere, anytime.
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 02:36
Quote: "Never thought of that, nice idea! Ill probably implement that"


Thanks. Glad to be of assistence. One last idea until the demo comes out. When combating large assult or battle cruisers, have an auto turret system so that anything that comes within X amount of distance gets shot at. To disable them, you can either destroy them one by one, or go into the ship via maintenence shafts. Once in the maintenence shaft, the player must make their way to the central power core if they manage to destroy it, the hangar sheild goes down. Then it is subject to a "Raiding Party". The raiding party doesn't need it's own a.i. Instead treat it like fliping a coin. If it lands on heads, the turrets are disabled permanently. If not, then you can call in another raiding party after 2 minutes via the menu.

This is only a suggestion.

Good luck

With these isolated expiriments, we are not only expanding our knowledge on time, we are starting to harness it's potential. Head Reasercher before Expiriment No 52
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 03:37
Quote: "One last idea until the demo comes out. When combating large assult or battle cruisers, have an auto turret system so that anything that comes within X amount of distance gets shot at. To disable them, you can either destroy them one by one, or go into the ship via maintenence shafts. Once in the maintenence shaft, the player must make their way to the central power core if they manage to destroy it, the hangar sheild goes down. Then it is subject to a "Raiding Party". The raiding party doesn't need it's own a.i. Instead treat it like fliping a coin. If it lands on heads, the turrets are disabled permanently. If not, then you can call in another raiding party after 2 minutes via the menu."

These are nice ideas but I doubt I will have this in the next demo but this is also a good idea.

Quote: "Good luck"

Thanks!

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 19:08 Edited at: 11th Apr 2009 19:09
Today I had a go at implementing atmosphere effects again. At the moment alot of work could be done to improve it and Z-Fighting is quite an issue from viewing a planet with an atmosphere, but these should clear up soon.

Heres a screenshot. The view is sunrise from an earth-like moon orbiting a gas giant. You can see quite alot of Z-Fighting where the planet is but I hope to fix this soon enough.


mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 20:20
looks good, can't wait untill the full version is out.

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
lucifer 1101
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 12th Apr 2009 03:30
how did you manage to get the sun soo bright...

did you just use a texture plain and then increase the brightness of the screen....
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 12th Apr 2009 14:24
@lucifer 1101

I use a ghosted and billboarded plain with a sun glow texture on it. The ghosting add the colours together so the sun looks brighter in the atmosphere than in space.

Ocho Geek
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 13th Apr 2009 22:07
just saw the pictures on the gallery, and i have to say this is the best space enviroment i've ever seen on a game.

Just a few questions im not sure if they've been asked;
1. How large is the explorable universe

2. how detailed are the planet surfaces, it would nice to see planets varying from forests to small space colonies and huge metropolis'

3. are the nearby stars (suns) 3d, if so, can we see a screenshot of one to inspect it


my advice, do a LOT of research, for example two stars can orbit each other and look really cool close up Like this

Not in cruelty, Not in wrath The Reaper came today;
An Angel visited this gray path And took the cube away.
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Apr 2009 23:00 Edited at: 13th Apr 2009 23:12
Quote: "have to say this is the best space enviroment i've ever seen on a game."


Thanks!

Now to answer your questions:

1) Currently the explorable universe is the solar system you start in.

2) The planets surface currently has no LOD so the texture gets worse and worse as you get closer but the texture is 4096x2048.

3) If you mean the sun that the planets orbit around, yes you can visit it. Heres a screenshot of that:


Quote: "do a LOT of research, for example two stars can orbit each other and look really cool close up"


Ive heard up to 5 stars can orbit eachother . At the moment it is possible to create a "binary planet" system, where two planets orbit eachother. The binary planet system can be alot like the Pluto/Charon system or it be as strange as 2 earthlike planets with equal mass orbiting eachother which are both the same distance away from the common center of mass.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ocho Geek
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 14th Apr 2009 12:41
yeah i know, just sharing my thoughts. personally the sun looks a little too bright, however pictures of our sun may be based on other stars so you may be right...

Not in cruelty, Not in wrath The Reaper came today;
An Angel visited this gray path And took the cube away.
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th Apr 2009 14:18
Quote: "personally the sun looks a little too bright"

That was because in the shot above, I was really close to the sun (within 0.1AU) just to show that you can go to it ingame.

zzz
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 14th Apr 2009 15:29
Wow, this is looking really good! Nice work!

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th Apr 2009 13:45
Quote: "Wow, this is looking really good! Nice work!"

Thanks

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 21st Apr 2009 21:16 Edited at: 21st Apr 2009 21:21
Recently I've been playing around with new HUD designs, the HUD will be split into segments which are on any of the corners or anywhere on the sides. This means I can adjust the HUD to any resolution the game is playing without stretching it. Here is the first segment I have, C&C is welcome:



and in game:



Attachments

Login to view attachments
Gears of War
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2009
Location: Anywhere, anytime.
Posted: 21st Apr 2009 21:59
looks really cool. Good job with this so far. Can't wait for the demo!

With these isolated expiriments, we are not only expanding our knowledge on time, we are starting to harness it's potential. Head Reasercher before Expiriment No 52
KISTech
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 21st Apr 2009 22:15
Makes me wish I were a better artist.

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 22nd Apr 2009 17:45
@Gears of War Thanks!

@KISTech Art isnt everybody's good point.

Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 22nd Apr 2009 19:29 Edited at: 22nd Apr 2009 19:33
Has anyone got any suggestions for camera control, currently I have 3:

1) Third Person (Fixed at the back of the ship facing forward)
2) Adjustable Third Person (Can be rotated in any direction using the mouse and it rotates with the ship)
3) Free (Can be rotated in any direction using the mouse but doesnt rotate with the ship)

Gears of War
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2009
Location: Anywhere, anytime.
Posted: 22nd Apr 2009 21:04
Id stick with the plain old 3rd person camera. Its simple and satisfying.

With these isolated expiriments, we are not only expanding our knowledge on time, we are starting to harness it's potential. Head Reasercher before Expiriment No 52
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 24th Apr 2009 22:41 Edited at: 24th Apr 2009 22:45
Today I had a go at implementing the NPCs again (as I rewrote SSO some time ago and AI dissapeared) and I was happy about it so much I decided to create 1000 ships and make them fight eachother. This was the result, I got 33FPS





Quote: "Id stick with the plain old 3rd person camera. Its simple and satisfying."


Ok, i'll set the 3rd person camera as default but i'll include the rest as an option.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
JLMoondog
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 24th Apr 2009 22:55
I want to play. That is such a cool screen. You seem to have a pretty powerful engine in place.

Nice work.

Gears of War
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2009
Location: Anywhere, anytime.
Posted: 24th Apr 2009 23:05
My god. An engine this amazing must be a sign of the apocalypse. Quick, to the bunker!

So they were all activley fighting each other? Wow.

Survivor: Survival Horror project

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=147700&b=25
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 24th Apr 2009 23:08
Quote: "So they were all activley fighting each other? Wow."


Their actually only chasing eachother, I havent implementing shooting yet but I should be done soon. Im completely redesigning the bullets from the last demo.

Quote: "My god. An engine this amazing must be a sign of the apocalypse. Quick, to the bunker!"




Quote: " I want to play. That is such a cool screen. You seem to have a pretty powerful engine in place.

Nice work."


Thanks! I have yet to optimize it though, it slows the game down to 33FPS from about 200FPS on my 8400M GT (but its currently capped at 60)

Stefan p
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2008
Location: Online
Posted: 25th Apr 2009 00:44
This is amazing

All fears must be overcome before feeling true happieness.
By Stefan aka me
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2009 18:17 Edited at: 27th Jul 2009 22:58
Quote: "This is amazing"

Thanks!

Ocho Geek
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 28th Apr 2009 23:16 Edited at: 28th Apr 2009 23:38
hmm, played that demo, and i have to say i dont like using the arrow keys to steer the craft. Have you tried using the mouse to steer?

I made a little adjustment to the hud, obviously its very quick, took me 4 mins, but the idea is there

EDIT:will earth have satellites? you'll need five hundred of them

Not in cruelty, Not in wrath The Reaper came today;
An Angel visited this gray path And took the cube away.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 28th Apr 2009 23:48
@Ocho Geek

Ive been playing around with different control modes and I've found mouse control easier to use as most other people have said, but I added arrowkey control mainly because im more used to it as i always play the Starwraith Series (their my main aspirations of SSO).

IMO, I think the hud animated like that can be quite annoying, maybe tone the moving line down abit?

I might include a few sattelites but down count on it . However there will be many space stations in orbit around the planet depending on how developed it is. (You will be able to colonise your own planets and develop them)

Ocho Geek
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 29th Apr 2009 18:43
that would be intresting

Not in cruelty, Not in wrath The Reaper came today;
An Angel visited this gray path And took the cube away.
tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 30th Apr 2009 02:50
Just a quick note from the Starwraith side, then - the SW3D series always had the option for mouse point and mouse direction control as well. Although, honestly, I tend to play with the keyboard anyway.

Ah well, this looks amazing. You're doing an astonishingly good job, there.


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Serial Velocity
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th Apr 2009 17:37
Quote: "Just a quick note from the Starwraith side, then - the SW3D series always had the option for mouse point and mouse direction control as well. Although, honestly, I tend to play with the keyboard anyway."


They did? I never noticed

Quote: "Ah well, this looks amazing. You're doing an astonishingly good job, there."


Thanks!

tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 6th May 2009 04:15
Yeah, you can set it through the Option menu. Not that I usually get there (Instant Action button is so inviting, eh).

I'll be watching this thread, so be sure to amaze me with cool updates every now and then, eh?


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 16:22:44
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 16:22:44