Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / BlitzTerrain

Author
Message
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 21st Feb 2009 23:19 Edited at: 21st Feb 2009 23:20
Ill release the "Black Hole" demo if you want. I have that lying around.

[edit] acctually I will, after I did a bit more work though.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 21st Feb 2009 23:58
Terrain positioning is finnished.

Time for Tile Exclusion!

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 01:05
Tile Exclusion is working!!

It isnt perfectly lined up with the exclusion map yet, so im just going to spend a few minutes making it work.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 01:49 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2009 01:52
Exclusion works perfectly now.



Opened paint, Drew a black box, used the spray paint to do lots of dots, Saved, set as the exclusion map and done Its now perfectly mapped onto the terrain. This feature can be used for hiding tiles which are under buildings.


It only needs 1 command to apply it.

'UT_SetTerrainExclusion(terrain,imgnum)'


Im going to add exclusion mapping feature in next. Then im going to do a bug sweep.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Rampage
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 07:19
Dude ... this is like, wicked cool. I mean ... I get over 3000 fps on your demo, and I'm so loving it.
Can't wait for an official release.


DarkBASIC Pro. Teh awesumness
Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 12:58
Rampage, 3000 fps....!!!

That looks cool Kaedroho keep your imagination flowing, cos it just keeps getting better !

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 13:53
2 Upcoming demos!!

Black Hole

Tile Exclusion

expect them both within the hour!

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 14:24
Filefront is all messed up. So im uploading to the forum.

Black hole demo attached

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 14:29
Exclusion demo attached

Enjoy!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 15:01 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2009 15:16
Downloading now!

The black hole demo is slightly odd, it looks like the earth is sliding away below you. There seem to be a few smallish bugs in it as well. Such as if you look at the edge of the black hole (this is more prominent on a large hole) then the culling goes slightly wrong, the section is still on screen but it hides it. (see attached pic)

I havent tried the exclusion demo yet... But good work=)
Edit: Just tried the exclusion demo and thats also pretty cool. That could work for water in some cases as well i think. At the moment it looks slightly odd and shows up the lod , but add some fog and im sure itll look far better and less noticeable changes...
Also, on the inivisible terrain, possibly it could be set to be flat so your not flying along and hit an invisible hil.. =)

Sorry for being nitpicky but it still looks a nice little terrain

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 15:26
The black hole is only a speed test. There are bugs which will be fixed soon.

I wanted to make something that changed every vertex on the terrain to test the speed.

Im going to make another demo to show how it could be used in a game or an editor.


The "invisible terrain" will stay. As on the heightmap it does say theres a hill there. And some people would like to use a get ground height function without there being any terrain. It will be up to the user to make that flat by either, setting that area of he heightmap to 0 or by using UT_GetPointExcluded(terrain,x#,z#) and using that with your colision system to make it flat.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 16:21
Ok, time for environment mapping. This should be quite quick!

Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 18:03
Environment mapping? Sounds like your making a copy of your surrounding area to me...

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 18:06 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2009 18:50
Environment mapping...

its basically a map with lots of colours on it. Green could be grass, brown could be mud, grey could be tarmac. It will be useful for multitexturing, vegetation, footstep sounds, etc.

just a few commands needed:


UT_SetEnvironmentmap(terrain,imgnum) - applies an environment map to an object


environment=UT_CreateEnvironment(terrain,colour) - creates an environment like grass, mud etc.





environment=UT_GetPointEnvironment(terrain,x#,z#) - gets the environment of a point






Attached is an example environment map (sorry for colour choice).

Green - Grass
Brown - Woods
Grey - Road
Yellow - Concrete (urban area)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 20:37 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2009 20:38
Environment mapping is working!!

This demo uses an environment map that I made to tell the player what kind of land is under the camera.

Demo attached.


Using this system, you can do footstep sounds, vegetation, multitexturing, etc. Much easier.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 20:52
Adding Multitexturing now.

There will be 2 modes

MultiTexturing - Allows you to have lots of different textures. like rock for a rocky part or grass for a grassy part.

Multidetailmapping - Allows you to multitexture with semi transparent images and a base texture. This is better because it allows you to have different shades of grass, rock, mud, etc.

Todd Riggins
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 21:30
Hi kaedroho, I enjoy following your your thread! Can you re- upload that 'emapexample.JPG' as 'emapexample.jpg'? The forum wont let me view the uppercase 'JPG' pictures. If not, no worries.

Current Specs: Intel Core2Quad 2.66 GHz, 8 GB RAM, NVidia Geforce 9800 GX2, Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 22nd Feb 2009 22:27
Its like reading someones diary as they write their ideas down...

Azunaki
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 23rd Feb 2009 00:02
lol im loving the terrain thing he is making. can't wait to test it out as a plugin.
The Wilderbeast
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 23rd Feb 2009 18:32
What exactly would be required ot get this plugin working with Dark GDK? As I imagine that this could proove very handy for C++ users too.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 25th Feb 2009 17:00 Edited at: 26th Feb 2009 16:45
Thanks for the comments

Sorry about I havnt been posting much recently.

Ive solved 2 major crash bugs over the past 2 days.
Im looking into DBPros multitexturing commands.

Wilderbeast, once the plugin is made for DBPro, its really easy to convert it.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 26th Feb 2009 18:23 Edited at: 26th Feb 2009 18:45
Im going to quickly add multitexturing, fix a few bugs, then it can be ported. That should take about 2 weeks, 3 weeks max.

After all that, ill release a demo of the dll.

Azunaki
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2009 03:47
i was wondering what advanced physics entitles. cause i was wondering if you are gonna include collision with this. if so could you separate that out for the free one. cause that is the hardest thing for me to do (i can't even figure out sparky's .dll...
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 3rd Mar 2009 16:40 Edited at: 3rd Mar 2009 16:41
Advanced Physics is tracking every dynamic object on the map to find which parts of the terrain should activated and which parts should be deactivated. This is another HUGE gain in FPS.

Ill include a Collision example with the release (free and commercial).



Everyone,

I got texture blending working last night. The terrain engine will support infinite detailmaps and pixel perfect static lightmapping (lightmapping which uses textures instead of vertexdata colour; looks alot better)

Its still a bit blocky, so give me a few hours to sort that out.

Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 3rd Mar 2009 17:22
Ooooh Sounds like its nearing fruition You deserve what you get for the work youve put into this for everyone =)

Azunaki
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Mar 2009 02:13
this really is looking amazing. its good here about the collision.

another question popped up. do we import our own landscaped or is there a landscape editor? (like in the pirates of port royal editor)
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 4th Mar 2009 11:56
@ kaedroho,

This keeps on looking better and better.

Would certainly consider buying the priced version of this...

Whilst you're answering Azunaki's questions, could you confirm whether the actual commands here are going to be dll with ini and help files or simply an included dba? Hoping the former... Presuming the former, given speed.

Also, any chance, by way of an appetizer, you could show us the provisional command list?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 4th Mar 2009 16:46 Edited at: 4th Mar 2009 23:10
Azunaki,

It will support heightmaps, so anything like terrsculpt,terragen,etc will be suported.

Duffer,

It will be a dll + ini + helpfiles.


Latest Command List:


Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 4th Mar 2009 21:06
"UT_ContinueBuild(object,phyobject,texture)"??
What does that command do? Sounds odd

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 4th Mar 2009 23:07 Edited at: 4th Mar 2009 23:11
That generates a single sector. It requires an object for visuals. An object for physics. (these must be different because of the LOD) and a texture. (this is only needed if your using Texture mode 2).

Example:



This code will build the terrain and also return the progress while doing it.

Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 20:16
@ kaedroho,

Seems like you're almost there with this one? What will the commercial version cost?

release date in view yet?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 16:40 Edited at: 7th Mar 2009 16:42
Ok, I have finnished most of UberTerrain and ive decided to release a beta of the free version.

Im now converting it into C++. And once thats done, ill release the first beta of the free version. The full version will be tested internally.



We havnt decided a cost, but the release date may be some time next month. But it depends how production goes. Ill aim for the 2nd of april. (last time i released something on the 1st, everyone thought it was an april fools joke!)

Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 21:39
Awesome!

I can see why that might happen

Azunaki
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 22:14
lol
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 23:33
Thanks for the comments

Ive just started the help files. They may take a bit of time to develop though. (im making them from line 1 in notepad). As I have Aspergers Syndrome, I have extreamly bad written communication skills so anyone who could spare a few minutes and read through them to find any bad wording then that will be greatly appreaciated .

Azunaki
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 08:39
i could look through them i guess. (is it more then 2-3 pages...)
Veron
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location:
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 08:49
Let me know if you need any help looking through them.

Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 11:20
@ kaedroho,

Count me in - used to work as an editor for a publishers and old habits die hard...

With the command set, is there any way (later, after first release! ) to introduce some commands to change the colour at a particular x#,z# point (in relation to a particular texture level)???

If not, no worries, just a thought...

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 12:24
Count me in also - I just like reading... =)

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 15:36 Edited at: 8th Mar 2009 19:21
Thanks for the support

Heres current progress on the help files.

http://uberterrain.turbodog.co.uk/Help/index.html

Theres not much to read through yet, but im adding to it all the time.
I know that my design isnt good, but it does the job. And im writing it in notepad, so its difficult to get anything good looking.


Yes, the Realtime Terrain Modification System will support, changing the height, texturing, environment mapping and excluding all in realtime. This feature will be very useful in editors.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 19:04 Edited at: 8th Mar 2009 19:08
Just set up a download system on one of my websites. Ive uploaded all the demos in rar and zip format:


UberTerrain Demo 4

RAR ZIP


Blendshader Demo

RAR ZIP


Black Hole Demo

RAR ZIP


Exclusion Demo

RAR ZIP


Environment Mapping Demo

RAR ZIP

Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 21:43
@ kaedroho,

Something seems to be corrupted in the above downloads for zip - is it just me?

Checked the website and help and that seems to be perfectly fine so far - clear and straightforward.

Referring back to my last post - any possibility of a command to 'paint' colour to a particular x#, y# on a terrain in future?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 21:45 Edited at: 8th Mar 2009 21:50
I used IZArc to compress the zips.

Quote: "Referring back to my last post - any possibility of a command to 'paint' colour to a particular x#, y# on a terrain in future?"


Thats the plan

"UT_SetPointColour(terrain,x#,z#,colour)"
This will only work in texmode 0.

texmode 1 you will have to edit the base texture yourself

texmode 2 you will have to use:
"UT_SetPointEnvironment(terrain,x#,z#,environment)" and the correct detail texture will be applied. Then use:
"UT_SetPointColour(terrain,x#,z#,colour)"
To change the base colour

Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 22:07
@ kaedroho,

Top stuff - with any of the loaded in textures, do you have to treat them as rotated 90 or 180degrees?

Referring up to your last response, does that mean that you could say id texmode 2 as grass, that would then select the relevant detail texture and you could then also colour texmode 2 at that x#,z# point? if yes, fantastic...

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 22:12
Yes, thats right.


Can you guys just look at this:

http://uberterrain.turbodog.co.uk/Help/commands/blank.html

When I fill that with info, will it be enough? or shall I add stuff like Example code with it?

BMacZero
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: E:/ NA / USA
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 22:15
Looks like a good system. I doubt you need to add examples with every command, just give 2-3 that show how to make a terrain, texture it, whatever else needs explaining.



kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 22:19 Edited at: 8th Mar 2009 22:19
Thanks for Replying

Im going to make a few examples anyway to go in the examples section. Ill add links at the bottom of each Command page to example pages which use that function.

Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 8th Mar 2009 23:05
@ kaedroho,

What bmaczero said.... so long as your few code examples cover all the comments and you perhaps stick in a good few rems/explanatory comments in the code that would be fine...

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 9th Mar 2009 01:33
Thanks Duffer!

I'd like to announce that the full version of UberTerrain will cost £20. I hope that fits into all of your budgets.

Azunaki
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 9th Mar 2009 02:12
...thats like $25-$30

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 06:14:52
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 06:14:52