Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
JLMoondog
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 31st Jul 2009 23:52
Interesting project, I should come to the DBP boards more. I'll be checking in on this every now and then.

thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 00:03
thanks!

kuljot
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2009
Location: sacramneto, ca united states
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 05:09
Well we already have 252 posts but no real programming started. I am getting a strange feeling that this project might die soon but i hope it doesnt.

Gateway GT5628 Quad Core Desktop Intel Core 2 Q6600 2.4GHz Quad Core 3072MB RAM / 500GB 7200 SATA II Hard drive DVD RW 18X multi dual NVIDIA GeForce 8500GT ....
mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 11:59
Ok i will get started on some concepts.

If you can't find it, code it yourself!
mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 12:06
Also, is it just going to be called OpenFPS, or will we have a name for it, like "Doomsday"?

And thanks for your compliments, much appreciated.

If you can't find it, code it yourself!
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 14:09
Quote: "Well we already have 252 posts but no real programming started. I am getting a strange feeling that this project might die soon but i hope it doesn't."


Have you ever planned a project before?

I will get to work on the file structure asap. Then I will write a couple of file formats.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 14:16
I have a filestructure done. Don't use it until we have all aggreed that its a good file structure. I've used it alot now and its never failed me.

File attached.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 21:18
Ok, i have a model for a rocket launcher: (Screenshot attached)
Tell me if i need to make any more weapons.

If you can't find it, code it yourself!
<img src = http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/1702/userbar762403.gif>

Attachments

Login to view attachments
thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 23:01 Edited at: 1st Aug 2009 23:02
nice! I can't wait to see it finished! if you want, I can texture it...

Quote: "Well we already have 252 posts but no real programming started. I am getting a strange feeling that this project might die soon but i hope it doesnt."
No way! you are just impatient.

Me and kaedroho have been working hard. I have been working on parts of the engine and collision, and he has been working on file formats, structure, and a lot more.

Quote: "Also, is it just going to be called OpenFPS, or will we have a name for it, like "Doomsday"?

And thanks for your compliments, much appreciated.
"


the engine will be called openfps, the actual game will have another name.

i like it, but having the temporary exe in a different folder is a
hassle and makes you copy data twice. my revised version is attached...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 23:15
Quote: "nice! I can't wait to see it finished! if you want, I can texture it..."
]
Thanks, i am hopeless with texturing.

If you can't find it, code it yourself!
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 23:38 Edited at: 1st Aug 2009 23:41
Its better to put binaries in a different folder. You sometimes get external dlls like newton. It just keeps things clean.

How does it make you copy data twice? You compile it straight into the bin folder just like normal. Then when you want a release, you just zip up the build folder.

thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 23:56 Edited at: 1st Aug 2009 23:57
mitch, can you uv map it?

kaedroho -
but wouldn't you need to copy all the media into the bin folder to get the exe to run?

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 23:57 Edited at: 1st Aug 2009 23:58
The file system will be rather complicated to code, but I've coded very similar systems before so don't worry about that.

The filesystems main purpose is to get a load of file names, and turn them into media and "objects".

The media will be extracted and moved to the temp folder.

Objects are what you saw earlier, they are maps, objecttypes, actorclasses, etc. These will all be loaded into an internal array.

There will be a linking process after that, this will turn things like <meshtype>Box</meshtype> into the index of that mesh type for fast loading.

The loading will work on a queue. Meaning you push alot of files to a queue, and it loads them in a loop. This will allow you to have loading bars, etc.

Media can easily be found. The file system doesnt only open files, but also manages fileformats and objectformats. So there will be direct support to load objects into the engine.


PS: can I make the scripting system too?


thenerd,

No, you can link the files straight to the media folder without copying.

thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 1st Aug 2009 23:59 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2009 00:00
now I get it...sort of. you can handle that, and scripting, if you want. I am better at programming the engine...

right now, you and me seem to be the only constant progammers around. where did monk go?

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 2nd Aug 2009 00:02 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2009 02:44
its really simple.

you have your code in the root directory.

your media is all in the build/media folder

when you compile, you exe goes straight to the build/bin folder

when you run, the filesystem will put '../Media' at the beginning of each filename. the '..' makes it go up 1 directory.


Heres the filesystem so far:


Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 2nd Aug 2009 00:07
Quote: "where did monk go?"


Im still watching and waiting, its just kinda hard to watch the thread when you spend all day playing cricket.

Dont worry, if you want me to do anything, just post it and ill catch up as soon as I can =)

Monk


I like work. It fascinates me. I sit and look at it for hours.
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 2nd Aug 2009 00:08
I'm stuck. Could I see the resource management code please?

kuljot
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2009
Location: sacramneto, ca united states
Posted: 2nd Aug 2009 07:14
Well the nerd can you please post all the code and stuff we have so far. Il see if theres anything i can do for this project at coding. Ill also be recording more sounds later. It would also be nice if you could post the current link to the website here.

Gateway GT5628 Quad Core Desktop Intel Core 2 Q6600 2.4GHz Quad Core 3072MB RAM / 500GB 7200 SATA II Hard drive DVD RW 18X multi dual NVIDIA GeForce 8500GT ....
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 2nd Aug 2009 18:31
Can we make a wiki? Have 1 page per code so its easy to view and edit code.

Tom J
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location: Essex, England
Posted: 2nd Aug 2009 18:47
If it makes everything more accesible then go for it. It would be handy for keeping reference of media and plans too.
thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:28 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 00:32
sorry I wasn't available for the last few days, I will try to answer your questions now.

I also made a quick polygon collision demo, to show what I have gotten done in the collision module. Download it and try it out... yes i know about the bug where the camera vibrates. it is annoying, I will fix it as soon as I dig up my old collision code that fixed it. Also, this is a bug, sometimes you can climb trees. the tress and ground are all using polygon collision, so the tree collision is less than ideal. but that will be fixed, soon.

Quote: "I'm stuck. Could I see the resource management code please?"

I am working on that. in the collision demo, it is just a load object command, but that is just temporary. give me a little time to think about it. I could write up a module called 'res_man.dba" that could have generic functions to load data, EG load_level(), load_image(), load_music(). for now they would just call the native db load commands, but if you later need to add in additional stuff. If you have another idea, go for it.

Also, a wiki would be a great idea!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:42
Right, I thought you were working on the main bit, seems that you were not. So could I very quickly get the core sorted?

thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:44 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 00:46
Sorry. I am trying to... right now I am entirely overwelmed.

of course you can get it started.
what part of the core do you want to work on?

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:46
The bit which fires the modules.

Mainly the Engine_start() Engine_update() and Engine_end().

Tom J
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location: Essex, England
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:46 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 00:47
thenerd, do you want to set up and administrate the wiki, since you are the project organizer?

http://www.wikia.com/wiki/Special:CreateWiki
thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:47 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 00:50
Ok...
I could quickly whip up the front end code, or do you think that should be saved for last?

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:48 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 00:51
All the core should be done first.
Your collision, camera and input systems must also be modulised.
Resource management is part of the core aswell.


The core should be coded exactly like any other module. Its main purpose is to Fire the modules General functions.

thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:57
Tom J and everyone else:
sorry, I did not see your post before.
here is the wiki!

kaedroho:
Ok. I will make the collision into a module with two functions (for now):
-setup_collision(object)
-update_collision()
-handle_collision(object)
setup_collision() sets up sparky's collision for the provided object.
update_collision() should be called before movement and other code, EG right after do.
handle_collision() will actually perform the collision check on the object specified, if a value of -1 is given it performs the check on every object. handle_collision() should be last in the loop, only before sync.

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Tom J
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location: Essex, England
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 00:59
I see no link, but I'm guessing this is it?

http://openfps.wikia.com/wiki/OpenFPS_Community_Project_Wiki
thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 01:14 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 01:14
kaedroho , i am totally sorry.
Quote: "ModuleName_Update() - Updates the module"

for sliding collision, you would need to call two functions.
[edit] wait, I just got a better idea. i could use one function for two things, and it would make everyone's life easier. just call Collision_Update("start") at the beginning of each cycle, and Collision_Update("end") at the end!

Tom J, I was going to edit it with that link, but you beat me to it!

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 01:16
Dont use strings. Use constants. ALOT faster to lookup.

thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 02:01
that was really an example, I could change it to be zero and one, all that matters is that is makes sense to people.

Tom J
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location: Essex, England
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 02:36
I had a little tinker with the wiki, although its late, so don't be surprised if it is still a little messy Nonetheless, if you all have categories and info you want to put on there, go for it.
kuljot
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2009
Location: sacramneto, ca united states
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 03:57 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 03:58
Ok so what should i program. Is there anything specific you guys need programmed right now.Also is anyone currently making the actual levels and stuff. I need something a little easy to program.

Gateway GT5628 Quad Core Desktop Intel Core 2 Q6600 2.4GHz Quad Core 3072MB RAM / 500GB 7200 SATA II Hard drive DVD RW 18X multi dual NVIDIA GeForce 8500GT ....
Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 09:35
Kaedroho, Is there a list of all the functions or most of the ones that would need to be coded. That way, people could make a start at least planning what they want to do and how they're gonna do it.

Itll just help Kuljot and I get started whilst you two already have =)

Monk


I like work. It fascinates me. I sit and look at it for hours.
kuljot
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2009
Location: sacramneto, ca united states
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 09:55
Yeah thats kind of what i wanted. IF you guys list all the functions we can pick the functions we want to code. Also should we start a post in the 3d chat and link it to this so we can attract more 3d modellers.

Gateway GT5628 Quad Core Desktop Intel Core 2 Q6600 2.4GHz Quad Core 3072MB RAM / 500GB 7200 SATA II Hard drive DVD RW 18X multi dual NVIDIA GeForce 8500GT ....
mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 11:58
Ok, the Rocket Launcher Model is finished, i just need someone to texture it.
I have attached a picture and can attach the model in several formats if requested.
Please comment!

If you can't find it, code it yourself!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 12:54
Also, does this mean anything:http://blackout.vectramedia.net/index.php

If you can't find it, code it yourself!
kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 12:57
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=154924&b=1&msg=1813308#m1813308

That will say which general functions need to be made. Only make the first 3.

The Update isn't needed in all modules.

You can do what you want with Additional functions, just make sure their prefixed.

Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 13:15
Ill get started planning a module then. =)

Monk


I like work. It fascinates me. I sit and look at it for hours.
thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 16:06 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 16:08
sorry I wasn't responding, I live in the US, so 10 in the morning for me is 2 in the afternoon for the uk.

mitch, the rocket launcher looks good! I might have time to texture it... can you give me it in .x? also, is it uv mapped? if it isn't, i can still do that.

kaedroho , I remember a directx command that disabled all windows keys, but db probably cannot access it.
[edit] wait, disable systemkeys!

oh, nevermind, read this:
Quote: "This command will fail if the operating system does not support the screen saver based method of deactivating the system keys. Be aware that this is not supported on Windows XP, and is not recommended for use on Windows 98 and ME. "


so that command doesn't work...

mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 16:25 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2009 19:47
Ok, the model is attached.
EDIT:
Also, is it ok if you put me on the "Team" list at the start?
Thanks.

If you can't find it, code it yourself!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dared1111
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 23:07
I'll be updating the game design document with the latest (inserting the enemies+weapons) when I have more time.
At the moment I'm dealing with my Experimental Gameplay Competition entry, which only allows me a week.

thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 3rd Aug 2009 23:58
mitch, I added you to the list, and will be updating that list on the new wiki, too.

mitch793
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Aug 2009 18:18
Hi guys. I got bored so i made this. (image attached)

If you can't find it, code it yourself!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Monk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: Standing in the snow =D
Posted: 4th Aug 2009 18:52
Its nice =)

Bit dark though, can't really see the word "open", maybe a different text colour needed? and also, whats a pencil rocket got to do with a FPS?? Maybe a gun or bullet needed?



Monk


I like work. It fascinates me. I sit and look at it for hours.
thenerd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 4th Aug 2009 23:50
nice, but not quite the style...

kaedroho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 5th Aug 2009 00:14 Edited at: 5th Aug 2009 00:30
Heres what I have so far, I'm adding resource management right now...

You can start porting your modules now.

I just very quickly added a core and a script module in less than 5 minutes, so there's bound to be typos.

EDIT: Version with resource management on the following link:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=154924&b=1&msg=1819542#m1819542

JLMoondog
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 5th Aug 2009 00:21
What style are you looking for? (curiosity)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-02 01:35:30
Your offset time is: 2024-05-02 01:35:30