Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Flare Engine [New Thread][Net play included!]

Author
Message
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 15:43 Edited at: 3rd Mar 2008 00:05


This is my work in progress engine what i will use in all my future projects! Mainly it runs only RPG:s but if im gonna even switch plaftrom i will make them their own engine. (what will be easier)

Video


Newest Screen(s)
*Bigger images are made into links to save loading time!*
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1349668
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1346511
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1349335




Current features

- Scripting Engine
- Summon Creatures
- Real FFX damage formulas
- Real FFX Tick system
- Buggy act list
- Status Effects
- Skills
- Magics
- Basic Attack
- Animation System
- Effect System (Not done because im waiting AES)
- Soulbreaks aka Overdrives
- Basic camera system
- Supports right now only one Enemy and Player
- Multiple Mobs

To-Do

- Effect System
- Map Editor
- Battle Editor
- Cutscene Editor - Will be used in game and in battle events
- Advanced Camera System
- Sound System (This comes with AES i think)
- Perfect Act List (Its harder than i could think..)
- Perfection on other FFX Calculations
- Add comments on source
- Etc things i can think off..

Download

[OFFLINE VERSION]

Current version only demostrations the battle engine
But i will try to make overworld version soon

[ONLINE VERSION]

Yea you readed right!! This is online demonstration of battle engine where you can challenge others and test your skills

Old Screenshots

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1337368
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_pic.php?i=1276396





License
You may use it any of your projects if you credit me.
Read the Credits.txt file on download for more details.

Credits

ZP Particle plugin creator what im now using as placeholder
Dark Coders Timer Based Libary
SinirothX from GameFaqs, Hes guide helped me on FFX Battle system techical things like formulas and etc.

How can you help?

You can help me by testing this and finding bugs for me.
And giving me suggestion what i can do better on source (Altrough you may not understand it yet)..

Other notes!

For compiling you need ZP Particle plugin,
Matrix1Utils plugin and Cloggys D3D plugin!

And if your FPS is too high just modify the sync rate on source!

If you got proplems that Exe isnt responding/working properply try chaning the "While 1 Endwhile" -loops to normal "Do Loop" -loops



Click For Details!
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 15:45
This is new thread with better name and everything!
I will add new screenies on main post now..

Also i have tested the net battle engine now with these ppl:
Dark Coder
Xenocythe
D-Eagle

Everything works fine
But im now doing final testing before upload!


Click For Details!

Guyra
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 15:53
Hey man, keep up the good work. Thumbs up for this project.
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 16:35
@Guyra
Thanks dude!


NET VERSION IS HERE!
Right here included!

Just download the file, extract somewhere, start it, enter your nick, and challenge players into battle

If you encounter any bugs or similar please report them in this thread!

Ill try to keep the main server on for now
Plase no cheating!
I know there is files that you can still modify because i was too lazy to make them server side.. So do not cheat please


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
dark donkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 17:46
I watched the vdea and it look cool. But i dont get what you mean by an engine. Dosent DBP allready not display teh faces that arnt on teh screen and stuff?. Or is it me being noobing and mising one obvious part of it.
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 18:12 Edited at: 26th Nov 2007 18:15
Yes! Dbpro is actually engine.. This is actually more like toolkit or something like that..

Its constructed from all my libary functions scripting systems, level systems, battle systems and etc things.

When i do this i can make more games easily because i dont need to hardcore everything again. Ill just use Flare Engine and its tools to produce the new RPG.

Perhaps that hinted what i meant
Its made for making my life easier.

Edit:
If anyone wants to test battle over net then just let me know
I can still be online for a while.


Click For Details!

Guyra
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 18:25
Hmm, in my eyes, DBPro is the tool of which you use to build the engine... The other way around doesn't make sense to me.
Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 20:01
I usually just call the code I use to handle the game aspects like camera and movement the engine, because it makes the game run... like an engine.

Anyways, still looks cool, and I still have absolutely no clue what that background is.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
flashing snall
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2005
Location: Boston
Posted: 27th Nov 2007 01:54
nice job so far. it sounds better to call it an engine, even though it isnt.
looks very nice though. keep it up. or else.


"these shoes are 300 hundred dollars"-Shoes by Kelly http://smallgroupproductions.com/
Zeus
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 27th Nov 2007 02:14
Nice Roxas, keep up the good work!

Plystire
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 27th Nov 2007 09:06
Wow, I was actually thinking of attempting to make an "RPG Maker" using DBPro, but this is looking much better than anything I probably would have come up with.

I wish you the best of luck with this, and if you ever need beta testers, please email me.


The one and only,
~PlystirE~

Urlforce:
Dude, I'd rather be declared a dbpro noob than an fpsc legend any day!
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 27th Nov 2007 14:08 Edited at: 27th Nov 2007 15:23
Hehe, Thanks!

Quote: "I usually just call the code I use to handle the game aspects like camera and movement the engine, because it makes the game run... like an engine."

Yes! Usually dbpro games are just coded into the dbpro default engine what handles objects and everything you do with the code!
Mine is kinda seperate engine.. What handles everything i load into with my script code And my libaries to dbpro code helps a lot!

Quote: "it sounds better to call it an engine, even though it isnt"

Actaully it is.. Just another engine over dbpro default engine.. It handles every stuff i have coded into when i load them with up scripts or tools..

Quote: "I wish you the best of luck with this, and if you ever need beta testers, please email me."

Every beta is puplic so you can download them from main post and post bugs and other things here!

EDIT:
Quote: "Anyways, still looks cool, and I still have absolutely no clue what that background is."

Im kinda surprised how still so few people doesnt see it like me..
When i watch it i certainly see a icy cave! Tough i think its just me because i have played too much Fantasy RPG:s


Click For Details!

vorconan
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Posted: 27th Nov 2007 23:32
I must admit, your work is completely amazing. I hope the very best of luck with this in the future.

Cheers



Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 00:01
Quote: "Im kinda surprised how still so few people doesnt see it like me..
When i watch it i certainly see a icy cave! Tough i think its just me because i have played too much Fantasy RPG:s"

You must play too many, because I still can't see it

you see it seems to be sloping downwards like a valley, and the upper part looks nothing like a cealing. basically it looks like an abstration you can walk on.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
TEH_CODERER
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Nov 2003
Location: Right behind you!
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 10:33
Lol! I see the icy cave quite clearly; its not the best quality graphics but I can still tell what it is.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - image max size is 600x120
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 14:14
Quote: "you see it seems to be sloping downwards like a valley, and the upper part looks nothing like a cealing. basically it looks like an abstration you can walk on."


Thats it cuz i tried to get the fantasy feeling
Like final place or something what is kinda 'weird' but you still get the idea its icy cave what has bit fantasy on it!


Click For Details!

Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 28th Nov 2007 22:37
still, I have can't tell what it is even after videos and screens, so therefore you probably should work on it. Just a sugestion, it doesn't seem to effect the engine much yet.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
tha_rami
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 29th Nov 2007 06:17
Agree with Bizar Guy. I had to keep my screen upside down and look with my head 180 degrees turned to actually see it.

The rest looks totally fabulous, though.


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 29th Nov 2007 11:55
Ok.. I will change it when i have time
So hopefully you will see it then


Click For Details!

Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 29th Nov 2007 14:50
Hehee.. I have now included some great commands in my scripting system

Now i can make basic AI what you saw on FFVII so you will like it

Also here is the newer render of the cave.. Tough it still needs improving.


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Guyra
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posted: 29th Nov 2007 17:35
The new ice cave definetly looks better. ^^
Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 29th Nov 2007 23:53
Yes, much, MUCH better
Can't wait to see it done (as you say you're going to improove it)


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 17:12
Ok here are the improvents

Tell me how you like these renders!


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 17:12
The second render..


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 17:52
Actually, I liked it a lot more before the "improovements". all you seem to have does is make is blurry and with some weird dark places. I much prefered it when it looked like it could be a real 3D enviorment, rather than a blurry backdrop. Blur is bad.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 18:22
OK then.. I will use the old ones


Click For Details!

Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 20:30 Edited at: 30th Nov 2007 20:33
Finally you see screens of some PC models. This is not the main char tough.. And this model isnt finished yet

The player has another player behind it.. Its party member and it is following the main player.. So dont mention about it


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 20:40 Edited at: 30th Nov 2007 20:44


The char looks kinda weird on engine because it has no real texture yet.. So i need to work out it soon as i can

Here is render.


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 20:45
cool. Just to mention though, those characters look kinda like giants there. I had thought people would look smaller on it, like about 2/3 the size you have them


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 20:46
Yea i know. I was kinda busy getting the char into game so i dint have time to resize it

But its done now.


Click For Details!

Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 20:58
ok, good.

So you know, you don't just have to make RPGs with this kind of engine. Have you ever heard of The Longest Journey? Anyways, I'd look at adding adventure game type elements, to make it so the engine is capable of doing a lot. It shouldn't be that hard even. Most of the element are used in RPGs to begin with, only in an adventure game it's more detailed.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 30th Nov 2007 21:56
Yes! Really good idea
Starting with simple adventure elements first could make some better results at end

But first.. I need do fix one bug in my map system.. And its really confusing :S Well hope i do get it fixed soon...


Click For Details!

Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 1st Dec 2007 19:24
Okey finally
After two days of pain and other things i finally found out that the dbpro writing and reading commands were sucking again..

But anyways that is the proplem but i found workaround so everything works now smoothly Also i dropped the loading time again! Its now almost 0 seconds.. And every BG is high quality!

Im including my old sphere grid system what source i luckily found on net! So expect some cool updates soon


Click For Details!

Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 1st Dec 2007 20:56 Edited at: 13th Jan 2008 15:57
Unintresting video!

<video remvoed>

Sorry about the weird stops on video. They are because fraps only allows me to record 29 seconds!

I had to remove some things on level system.. So thats why the character starts from wrong place when changing areas!

Tomorrow i start on real stuff


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Jimpo
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Dec 2007 04:13
Does that second character automatically follow the first?

And the battle transition was done well. You could have a system where it does a random transition each time.

Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 9th Dec 2007 15:44 Edited at: 9th Dec 2007 15:44
Okey i have been fiddling with my particle system
It creates beatiful effects into my engine.

Here is screen of Holy effect:


Doesnt look good?
Well you maybe wanna see it on action. Just run this code:


If you want to see the 3d version of this effect then goto into Xmash competition thread


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 9th Dec 2007 18:30 Edited at: 9th Dec 2007 18:31
Another effect
Aka Ultima!
Dont mind the holy text at up left. I just dint make ultima a own command because i wanted to quickly test the new effect



My next goal is to remake the FFVII First Mission only using the Flare Engine scripting system. Tough im not gonna release the build exe with that mission only screens and videos

Why i cant release is because im gonna use FFVII BG's
Enemies will be random tho

If you dont remember what was the FFVII first mission and you have FFVII psx version then you can download Q-Gears engine what will extract data from your PSX disc and play the first mission with Q-Gears engine.

More info here: http://q-gears.sourceforge.net/


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 9th Dec 2007 22:15 Edited at: 9th Dec 2007 22:16
Update!

This shows some parts of mission 1 script




Do you regonise the dialogs?
And yes the Barret does come to the group and start speaking like at the FFVII

Also i added texture to particles. They look beatiful!




Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 10th Dec 2007 16:57
So is there any question or comments?


Click For Details!

Inspire
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 10th Dec 2007 23:32
Looks promising. Hopefully you can get a good amount of spells and effects in there.

Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 10th Dec 2007 23:37
Very impressive stuff. Great spell effects.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 11th Dec 2007 14:44
Thank you


Click For Details!

Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 27th Dec 2007 18:44
Okay little update.
Ive been on holidays here.. But now i came back and FINALLY! I mean FINALLY!

I fixed the bug in scripting system that gave me really bad nightmares and finally i can continue And ive now remade one script from FFVII Competely!

Thanks to Dark Coder who is such a life saver!!


Click For Details!

Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 27th Dec 2007 23:17 Edited at: 27th Dec 2007 23:18
New screen



Note that the debugger only records the highest time so thats why the numbers are pretty high(Mostly because they came when switching levels or so)

Loading time means the loading time at start.. level loading is small time and you wont notice it!


Click For Details!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 28th Dec 2007 00:05
Coolio, download?

Also, is the 'net' feature manditory, when I get back to my flats (where my good comp is, where I do my gaming etc.) I won't be able to connect to the internet without this crappy laptop.

mjoĆ°r er lekker
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 28th Dec 2007 00:43
Yes 'net' feature works good
Its not just pretty user friendly because of the gui(battle menus etc..) but you get hang of it!

Also easy to hack but its meant to play with friends. If you want then i can open the main server for it and we can play ^^

Oh and not yet download for that.. And perhaps i cant even let download cuz it uses FFVII BGs. Tho i try to make work around for it (Like add paint made bgs lol)

And the walk meshes arent accuary cuz i dont have the actual 3d models for FFVII Levels otherwise the walkmeshes would be 100% accuary like in my made pre rendered levels.

Tho i can always send the download as private.


Click For Details!

Beast E Gargoyle
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2007
Location: Sunny San Diego, CA
Posted: 29th Dec 2007 04:03
@ Roxas Flare Engine looks great! It works well for RPG. Hmm i wonder if it would work that good for a Fantasy/adventure game?

Streets of Rage the best 3d beat em up ever check out the wip on apollo forums!
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 29th Dec 2007 11:06
Well currently it is for my personal use, because its hard to use and doesnt yet have so many tools and editors. So if i get it good well see if i can lend flare engine help.

The one proplem is that adventure games mostly uses 3d world just to help on some tasks.. But flare engine will get 3d world support later!

Your signature has been erased by a mod
Roxas
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 3rd Jan 2008 17:12 Edited at: 3rd Jan 2008 17:18
Sorry about the updates.. I have been busy a little.. Anyways im currently on final stages of the FFVII Script to my scripting system thing. When its done ill do some optimizations on source code (Game runs on 30 fps on my crappy comp but i will post my friends fps when they test..)

Anyways when im done ill post video

Edit:
Sig test.. Dang mods! Deleting my sig without reason :/


Click For Details!
Beast E Gargoyle
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2007
Location: Sunny San Diego, CA
Posted: 4th Jan 2008 03:53
Get the fps up alittle bit and you will probably have a great Flare Engine. All the best, Beastegargoyle

Streets of Rage the best 3d beat em up ever check out the wip on apollo forums!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-02 02:51:46
Your offset time is: 2022-12-02 02:51:46