Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 17th Oct 2008 01:12
Thanks, I added a README file, so if you have any questions, they're probably answered in there.......

I might take you up on that offer PBCrazy, I'll see nearer the time of release....

Pbcrazy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: ...pillow room...
Posted: 17th Oct 2008 01:20
what the hell is that thing stuck on your head when you start off?

i tried to play but i couldnt see, cuz it was blocking the camera.

meh ill try loading again and see if its still there, but i have to go to a football game right now.

CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 17th Oct 2008 01:22
Hmmmm....

Gimme a sec to see what you mean....

Pbcrazy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: ...pillow room...
Posted: 17th Oct 2008 01:27
well just got done playing it, and after i reloaded the thingy was gone.. dunno wierd

but heres what i have to say, it was very short. rather disappointing really, cuz not a whole lot happened, but its just a demo so its all good. The voices defenately need some work, but im sure you know that.

other than that i couldnt find anything wrong, nice level design!

but that stupid shot gun in the box annoyed me because i wanted to take it

CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 17th Oct 2008 01:34
Lol, the voices are placeholders until I get some real voice actors.....

I kept it fairly short to keep the framerate good and make sureit plays out well on lower end PCs. Also, it's only really a small introductory level, to give you an idea of how the facility looks, etc.....

The next level will be a training mission, the the proverbial Faecal matter hits the fan in the 3rd one......

Lol at the shotgun, perhaps I should remove it. It's too early for the player to have that weapon IMO....

Pbcrazy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: ...pillow room...
Posted: 17th Oct 2008 01:36
lol ya thats what i figured

and ya im sure lots of people will be spending a good 2 minutes and three reloads trying to get that shotgun (not that i did )

Aertic
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 00:47
Music=10/10
Gameplay=7/10 could do with some more gameplay
Sounds(Voice acting ect.)=5/10 could do with some more sounds too add suspense
level design=8/10 some places that were in-active such as a abandoned part of levels could do with lights off, as its wasting electricity.
overall=30/40.
Moar work to be done, but a good game and i`m highly anticipating it. =D


"Your greatest teacher is your harshest critic"-'Butterfingers'
ASTECH
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 01:24
I actually liked it man. It really caught my attention and I want
to learn how the story ends.

Astek

-Indestructible-

CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 01:39
@Matuka

Thanks. I just need to get me some voice actors. Gameplay comes into it more in the levels after this one, mainly after you get your H.S-P. suit, and use the functions utilised in that....

@ASTEK

Lol, hopefully I won't let you down on that one then......

Did the demo play well for everyone when they used the Anderson Bloom Patch I added in there? I was mainly hoping for this to be for testing that out performance-wise.....

Pbcrazy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: ...pillow room...
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 03:26
this prolly seems stupid, but how do you get the bloom patch to work -_-

ASTECH
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 04:48
The mod just caused the loading screen to disappear and I had
to hard reboot my computer. I don't recommend it really.

Astek

-Indestructible-

CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 10:34 Edited at: 18th Oct 2008 10:43
@PBCrazy

You just unzip the rar file I put in there, and you're good to go....

@ASTEK

Really? Let me see a sec.....

-=EDIT=-

Hmmm, I see what you mean, the bloom makes the Loading Screen flare up? I foud the answer to that, just press the + button on the numpad as it starts to flare up, and it stops.....

ASTECH
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 19:32
Yeah... it flares up but it disappeared for me after 30 seconds
of it totally blinding me...

Astek

-Indestructible-

CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 20:05
Yeh, press the + key on the numpad to disable it.....

GP PrOdUcTiOnS
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2007
Location: WWW.
Posted: 18th Oct 2008 22:27
Cg, you are a great level disiner. I really love Izols

Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 18:25
Quote: "Music=10/10"


Whoot!

Back from holiday now, dloading it ASAP.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 18:37
Lol, Congratulations Butt Monkey, the music is awesome......

I hope you enjoy the demo....

How was your holiday?

Aertic
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 18:45
@ButtMonekey
yes, Coffee told me that you did the music for the game, its rather satisfying, near pro quality mind you, also i heard you based it off the half-life soundtrack, another good thing actualy, half of this game has its thoughts from half-life if you ask me. good stuff. =)

Quote: "The mod just caused the loading screen to disappear and I had
to hard reboot my computer. I don't recommend it really."


Alt+Tab to a diffrent window(such as firefox or somthing.) and then CTRL+ALT+Delete to run up process explorer then kill the process of FPSC_game.EXE.
=P


"Your greatest teacher is your harshest critic"-'Butterfingers'
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 19:05 Edited at: 19th Oct 2008 20:43
Lol, well I guess I am a bit inspired by HL. I think it was a great game though, so I can't help but say, "oh, that'll look good, like in HL...."

I think BM based it off the HL2 soundtrack slightly, I was listening to part of it, and there was a track that had a similar tune to a track he sent me, (the instruments and such were different, but part of the tune was the same......

Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 22:50
The majority of what i've done for Izolis is all based off HL2 soundtrack Thanks for the nice comments (Matuka specially)

For some reason I'm not getting much sound in the demo. I get the music, door noises, water ambience and that's about it. I'll try to redownload it.

From what I saw I really liked it. It's much better than the first demo I tried. What I feel you REALLY need at the moment is more stuff happening. For this sort of section you need bucket loads. I wish I didn't have to do this, but I am going to refer to HL :p It had a load of stuff going on, loads of people talking, you saw people busy working and all sorts. This demo had that but not enough.

Lighting was very nice as usual. I'll test bloom out soon. I have only one comment which would be perhaps darken the monorail crash scene. For a kind of creepy, chilling scene it was very bright.

Level design was spot on, it's really coming on. I had good performance except for a kind of freeze at the very start. A bit random.

I would say the main parts to work on are creating an atmosphere at the moment. I'll even write more stuff if you want me to xD

Looking promising.

PS: My holiday was great I ate stuff and slept.
Aertic
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 23:07
Quote: "Matuka specially"

Do I get a medal? or somthing? Pl0x.
Quote: "PS: My holiday was great I ate stuff and slept. "

Woah... thats a great holiday, no sarcasm either... I envy you...


"Your greatest teacher is your harshest critic"-'Butterfingers'
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 23:18
@Butt Monkey

Lol, thanks, I'll see about making the crash scene better. I had a PLRFREEZE function at the start to hold the player in place, but I thought it would only freeze "their legs", so to speak......

I'd like to get people talking and such in it, but I'd need a custom animation for that kinda stuff......

Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 23:25
There are plently of other things you can do.

Although I can't really think of a place this would work, an example would be to freeze the player in a small room, trigger some lights and smoke decals and have a voice over through a speaker talkking about decontamination or somit.

Although I really don't think that's possible for your level, it's those sort of things that make these sorta sections interesting.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 19th Oct 2008 23:29
Hmmm, I've got a couple of ideas, I'll see about adding in stuff like transport vehicles following waypoints, etc.....

Thanks for the advice.....

Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 20th Oct 2008 19:02
Just tried it with the bloom patch. I liked it better without. The lighting was much more subtle. The patch overpowered it a bit.

Still not getting much sound for some reason. I'm not sure why that is.

I found a little error. I managed to climb the boxes onto the gantry where the scientist was walking. I went into the toilet where he disappeared. I went into the open cublicle and fell through the level.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 21st Oct 2008 20:49
Lol, you fell through the level? I'll have to see about fixing that somehow.....

Dar13
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2008
Location: Microsoft VisualStudio 2010 Professional
Posted: 22nd Oct 2008 00:08
I get an error report whenever I run your game(Izolis.exe has encountered a problem and needs to closeblahblahblah) am i the only to have this problem?

I know not what WWIII will be fought but I do know that WWIV will be fought with sticks and stones-Albert Einstein
Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 22nd Oct 2008 01:28
What are your specs?
Dar13
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2008
Location: Microsoft VisualStudio 2010 Professional
Posted: 23rd Oct 2008 00:29
Pentium 4 1.70Ghz
GeforceFX 5200
512 Mb RAM
I can run any other game made with FPSC though.

I know not what WWIII will be fought but I do know that WWIV will be fought with sticks and stones-Albert Einstein
Plystire
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 23rd Oct 2008 01:58
Good to see your game getting nice reviews, CG! I wish I could play it, but until my comp parts get here, I'm stuck on my 5 year old laptop (Used for emergency situations where I have no computer ). I tried running FPSC on it before and well.... not so much, lol.


Out of curiosity, are you using Ply's Mod or S4Mod for this demo?


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 23rd Oct 2008 17:06 Edited at: 23rd Oct 2008 17:07
Ply's mod shows up in big red letters at the start.

So I do beleive it's Ply's mod.
Plystire
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 24th Oct 2008 08:21
Lol, okay. I can't play it on my computer right now, so didn't know.

I remember him mentioning using S4Mod, so wasn't sure, though I think he was gonna use that for the MP... Thanks!


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 24th Oct 2008 19:30
@Dar13

Odd, I don't really know what's up there, might I suggest the usual updating DirectX, I dunno if it'll actually help though....

@Plystire

Yup, I used S4Mod for MP because you haven't added Lemur V2 stuff into your mod yet....I'll be using your mod for the single player though, you might have seen the list of features I posted a page or two back that I hope for this game to have....

Plystire
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 24th Oct 2008 23:15
Well, pretty soon (which is an over-statement since I am still minus a PC ) I am hoping to get lots of great MP additions into Ply's Mod... the only thing keeping me away is that I just KNOW everyone's going to expect/want dual-wielding to be in it. That, and I have no real effective way of testing it, since I have no one around to test it with me!


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 24th Oct 2008 23:37
Lol....

I wouldn't really care about MP with Dual Wields, I'd be happy without it, (I wouldn't complain if you added it in though)....

I've edited the level based on advice, you can no longer fall to your death through the toilet, (rofl), I've added another little track to add a nice ambience, cleaned up the level a little poly-wise, and am working on getting a truck to follow a waypoint....

Aertic
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Oct 2008 23:47
Rigged them hands yet coffeegrunt? cause I may RE-UVmap them.


"Your greatest teacher is your harshest critic"-'Butterfingers'
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 24th Oct 2008 23:51
Hmm, haven't rigged them yet, so if you wanna UV them first, then I'll rig them, that'd be fine with me...

Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 26th Oct 2008 12:23
I wanna see more screens!!! xD
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 26th Oct 2008 15:47
Okai!!! xD

Lol....Here's a shot of part of the training level. The facility's training programs operate in old, decommsioned areas that once served as missile silos, WWII bunkers, and even some areas that were used for mining gold....

The areas were reused to save bulding work dueing the recent war with the East, so it some areas have been renovated for use in training new recruits....

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 26th Oct 2008 18:34
That's looking nice. A good contrast from the first level. I would mabye add stuff to the walls though. Perhaps even move your entities in a little so that there isn't an empty space in the middle.
puppyofkosh
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2007
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2008 18:54
I agree with buttmonkey, but I like the segment.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 26th Oct 2008 19:09
Ok, thanks for the comments....

Pbcrazy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2008
Location: ...pillow room...
Posted: 27th Oct 2008 02:58
looking freaking sweet!

only thing i have to add is that that wall segment looks a bit to plain. maybe add a bottom border (plank of wood?) or something.

CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 27th Oct 2008 18:22
Hmm, ok.....

Here's another screen. Although this part of the facility is outdated, high-tech power transferrers are install to keep the recruit training systems running.....

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Butt monkey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posted: 27th Oct 2008 18:57
Oooh, that's a good one. Perhaps you could get deeper shadows running alot of walkway somehow? Looking good.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 27th Oct 2008 21:26
Okay, I'll see what I can do....

noobgamer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Oct 2008 23:48
it looks incredible! I wish my games could be this good.

UMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM HI.
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 28th Oct 2008 00:17
Hmmm, I might make a tutorial on how I do it like this, once you get the hang of it, it's pretty easy...

CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 29th Oct 2008 15:32
More screens....

Here's a part of the Aquatic Training Circuit, your suit can last about a minute underwater before it's oxygen reserves run dry and you have to re-surface to refill it.....

Attachments

Login to view attachments
CoffeeGrunt
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 29th Oct 2008 15:34 Edited at: 31st Oct 2008 23:52
..and part of the Military firing range, where you're gettting fired at, by a turret with a rocket launcher. You'll have to use the cover available and move up to the turret to trip the laser wire and de-activate it...

-=EDIT=-

Woot! 300 posts!

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-09-24 04:16:53
Your offset time is: 2023-09-24 04:16:53