Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / - DBPro Coding Challenges -

Author
Message
Visigoth
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jan 2005
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posted: 13th May 2010 07:17
so tempted to get into this..but, I have to stay focused on current project. Also, just my 2 cents, but, I wouldn't consider IanM's plugins "media". Heck, I'd consider them "essential". Looks like he only used one command anyway.
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 13th May 2010 10:27
It doesn't use outside media... It creates it's own media, saves it, loads it, then deletes it. ('cos advanced terrain is stupid)

And as for the IanM plugin thing, just change the make object plain command to remove the rows and columns bit, like this...


My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 13th May 2010 10:32 Edited at: 13th May 2010 10:35
Quote: "
NOT ALLOWED:

You may not enter code that requires anything that must be downloaded, in order for the code to work, including:

Picture files, like .jpg’s, .bmp’s, .png’s., if they have to be downloaded.
.dll’s which cannot be guaranteed to exist on other users’ machines. For example, you may not enter code which requires Sparky’s Collision dll, as not everybody has it installed."


http://www.andromedus.com/dbp/html/media-rule.html

Sorry @Mobiius...

...also:
Quote: "it should be able to be used for a 2D rpg world, or to texture a planet sphere"


Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 13th May 2010 10:41
Quote: "Quote: "it should be able to be used for a 2D rpg world, or to texture a planet sphere""

It still could. Press space and see the heightmap and colormap. The colormap could be used for a 2D RPG. And if you change the scales you can get a higher resolution image.

Change the 256 here...

To generate a heightmap of a different size.
Change the 7 to increase or decrease the scale of the terrain. Lower numbers make it more bumpy, higher numbers (up to 8) make it more smooth. (A high resolution and small scales can make a huge RPG terrain.)

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 13th May 2010 11:00
@Mobiius, great work as usual. You are right of course, it could be used for a 2D rpg world, I think people (including me) are getting hung up on the fact it's been designed more for 3D. I don't think it would look anywhere near as impressive used in a 2D game (although I'd be happy to be proved wrong!).

I wouldn't know where to start on something like this so don't think I'm not impressed because I am!!

chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 13th May 2010 12:44
Quote: "('cos advanced terrain is stupid)"


@Mobiuus
Really good code, but that`s what I meant I didn´t post my 3DTerrain. The picture I showed above was what I had understood to IBOL.

Ani way, with some arrangements you can achieved the same


cheers.

I'm not a grumpy grandpa
owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 13th May 2010 20:19
hi, can i just check what is being asked for here? is it a series of dots on a 200 *200 pixel base - each color-coded to represent different terrain types or is it more complex than that?
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 14th May 2010 01:19
owlman, that is a wonderfully concise description !
yes.
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 15th May 2010 19:43
hey all,
i'm really sorry about this challenge.
no one wants to do it, so i'd like to ask:

does anyone else have a more desirable challenge idea?
i certainly don't want to kill this thread!

so please post an idea, and as soon as a good one comes along,
we'll go with that.
owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 15th May 2010 20:17 Edited at: 20th May 2010 10:30
i've had a quick go at the challenge - the first time i've taken part or posted anything to this website - please dont slaughter me anyone .. also let me know what you think of my attempt I have changed the challenge function a little and i hope that doesn't disqualify me lol .. i wanted to limit ice caps to the north and south extremes - i have also added two levels of mountains and arable farmland. if you press the spacebar you generate a new map and mouse clicking on the map writes the type of terrain under the cursor to screen.



if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
acelepage
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2004
Location: Plattsville
Posted: 16th May 2010 00:38
@IBOL,
I'm still in. I have an idea to improve on my entry based on your feedback. I just have to find some time to put it into code. I am aiming to meet the 20th deadline.

( 2b || !2b ), that is the question. The answer: true
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 16th May 2010 23:04
@acelpage,
all right, great!
i certainly won't change it then.

your signature reminds me of another one i saw:
"there are 10 kinds of people in the world. those that understand binary, and those that don't."
Neuro Fuzzy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 16th May 2010 23:26
Is more out-of-the-box stuff OK? I was thinking scalable perlin noise generator, for the surface of a planet that is a 2d circle. 3d would be... meh...

is weird stuff like that OK?


IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 17th May 2010 03:12
if you can write it in DBPro, and it approximates the idea of the challenge, then DO IT!
acelepage
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2004
Location: Plattsville
Posted: 18th May 2010 20:19
OK, here is an updated entry.
The code is rather iterative, so it takes a bit to render the map (haven't optimized it). Basically it starts with pools of water, and builds out from there.



( 2b || !2b ), that is the question. The answer: true
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 19th May 2010 06:25
@acelpage,
yes! that's much more like what i was talking about.
i wonder if anyone else will submit?
if not, get thinking on the next challenge.
owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 19th May 2010 09:05
@IBOL - did my effort not count as a submission for your challenge? was it totally off ball for some reason? It uses the function you stipulated should be used in the challenge, draws random terrain-specific landmasses as is required by the challenge and .. well whatever .. it was fun to make lol ..

@acelpage - well done. nice code.

I can't wait for the next challenge ...

if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 19th May 2010 10:25 Edited at: 19th May 2010 10:44
Quote: "did my effort not count as a submission for your challenge? "

Mine too, it generates a random colormap which can be used as a 2d terrain? If all you want is a bunch of areas of different colours then I'll reduce the colours in my height scale to make the image look poorer, but more like acelepage's entry?

*Edit*
Right, I've converted mine to generate a 5 colour colourmap to signify Deep water, shallow water, sand, grassland, and ice caps. All I did was to take my 256 colour gradient, reduce it to 5 colours, and replace the data at the end with the new data et voila!



My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
acelepage
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2004
Location: Plattsville
Posted: 19th May 2010 15:45
@owlman,
Surely IBOL jests (notice the winking emoticon). Your entry achieves the look of a terrain map. I like the edges of the terrain changes. The jagged edges suggest a natural boundary. It looks a lot higher resolution than my map.

@Mobiius,
I got a command out of place error at line 95, so I removed all of the dots in the comment on line 79. The standard editor treats the dots as a line continuation, so that line 80 is treated as a comment. A common issue on this thread. I post the quick fix here is case anyone else runs into the same problem.

( 2b || !2b ), that is the question. The answer: true
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 19th May 2010 16:51
D'Oh! lol

Have dot removed code... ( )


My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 19th May 2010 21:25 Edited at: 19th May 2010 21:31
@all,
it's still the 19th. challenge ends 20th.

@owlman,
i'm sorry i didn't even SEE your entry. i'm really sorry about that.
[edit] and now i have looked at it. i like it. i like the detail, and you put in more types of terrain.

@mobiius,
it was said that your entry using an IanM plugin was not acceptable to the rules for this thread. if you made another entry that does NOT use that, i'm sorry for not seeing yours either.
[edit] i tried your new one. i get
Quote: "command out of place at line 95"
when a i try to run it.
i don't SEE anything out of place, but that's what i get. could someone else try it please?


i've been working like crazy on another program, and then i got Spore, so i've been a little un-involved here.

tomorrow will be the judgement.
acelepage
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2004
Location: Plattsville
Posted: 19th May 2010 22:08
@IBOL,
Remove the dots on the end of the REM line 79.
Your editor interprets the dots as a line continuation, and treats line 80 as a comment.
Or, load the re-posted code from Mobiius.

I think we should have a standard header style in a comment when posting an entry, to make it easier to see. That would reduce any change of missing entries in a challenge. Sort of like:

########################
Code Entry for challenge
########################

And the challenge announcement could have a similar style.

( 2b || !2b ), that is the question. The answer: true
owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th May 2010 00:01
@IBOL .. no worries, mate .. I thought maybe it was something like that .. I've enjoyed the challenge and nothing took away from that ..

if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 20th May 2010 00:45
@mobius: holy cow, that's cool. now we have a contest... uh oh...

@ acelpage:
Quote: "########################
That's a good idea!
########################
"


also, what the heck is wrong with dbp editor, that it bothers to interpret something within a comment?
i NEVER would have figured that out. thx!
BMacZero
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: E:/ NA / USA
Posted: 20th May 2010 02:16
I agree, ace.

Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 20th May 2010 09:20
Quote: "@mobius: holy cow, that's cool. now we have a contest... uh oh..."

Thanks.

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th May 2010 23:35
it's the 20th .. ) - can't wait for a new challenge - no rush hehe ... would keep me out of mischief tho'

if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 21st May 2010 03:31 Edited at: 21st May 2010 03:34
ok,time to do the thing...
i thought no one was going to enter, but then it got tough to decide, but the winner is:




everyone took interesting approaches, and all created different display methods or terrain types.

sorry i flaked towards the end, i just got Spore, and i've been writing another 20-liner... ... i get obsessed...

what will the next challenge be, winner?
Jimmy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Aug 2003
Location: Back in the USA
Posted: 21st May 2010 03:52
This better be good, Mobiius! I've been itching for a SHALLANNNGGGGEE

NaGaFailMo.
owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 21st May 2010 07:47
Yay - well done Mobiius !!

@IBOL .. lol does some weird things .. almost - sounds a bit like me hahaha ..

I tried to replicate the dots as line continuation situation from the earlier code, but it doesn't seem to work for me - which is a shame cos I sure would like some sort of continuation method. Any ideas why not? ..

if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 21st May 2010 10:21 Edited at: 21st May 2010 10:22
Yay! I won something! (If only I could win the lottery! lol)

Right then, my challenge... Make a demo with vehicles in dark PhysX which actually works properly! lol, only kidding, that's impossible!

What I'd like to see are some tropical seascapes!
The challenge is to make a scene showing at least the following items...
Sea, land, a tree.
It doesn't have to be a full island, just a small view will do. For inspiration, see these images...



You have two weeks to complete this, so the deadline will be 00:00 on the 4th June. Higher marks awarded for better texturing (yes, textures have to be generated on the fly )

Any questions, then just ask! Good luck!

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 21st May 2010 10:46
Congrats Mobiius!!

Quote: "Make a demo with vehicles in dark PhysX which actually works properly! lol, only kidding, that's impossible!
"

Shame, I'm working on a game using DarkPhysics vehicles at the moment and it's working really nicely!! I think I've got my head around it now (drift works really well and is easily adjustable too). Still it's against the "Rules"...

Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 21st May 2010 12:04
Quote: "I'm working on a game using DarkPhysics vehicles at the moment and it's working really nicely"

I'd love to know how you got it working. I've wanted to do a driving game for ages but can never figure out how to get the physics working well.

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 21st May 2010 12:16
I'll do a post on how I set them up at some point but it's all based on the powersliding demo by Lucy I think...

Yes it's here:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=113200&b=30

...don't want to be off topic too much but this was a really good start. I have a simple demo I'm working on for a driving game where you can play football with the cars but it's a way off yet. How about I put a quick demo together using the "spline based" race track editor by @paul5147 and post it in the DP forum later today?

chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 21st May 2010 13:23
Congrats Mobiius!!

Quote: "It doesn't have to be a full island, just a small view will do"


Shouldn´t we move in 3D space or just a "small view will do" ?


cheers.

I'm not a grumpy grandpa
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 21st May 2010 13:28
Either. You will be judged on your scene, if you can move around then you may score higher.

The emphasis is on imitating a scene much like the pictures posted above without the use of external media. The ability to move around isn't required. (Although you can if you want)

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 21st May 2010 14:05
Okey dokey!

cheers.

I'm not a grumpy grandpa
BMacZero
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: E:/ NA / USA
Posted: 21st May 2010 16:34 Edited at: 21st May 2010 16:35
BMacZero
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: E:/ NA / USA
Posted: 21st May 2010 16:34
Looks like it's time to recycle my sea code from a few challenges ago .

owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 21st May 2010 17:32 Edited at: 21st May 2010 18:44
nice challenge .. I will be attempting an entry for fun ..

I have a question tho .. about such functions as the perlin noise function that was imported into the last challenge winner - are such functions open to everyone to use or do you need special permission to use such code? - And, if I find code I need from the website's code bank, is it okay to include it en masse too? I guess rules are stated around here somewhere but if anyone could quickly clarify the situation for me, I'd be grateful. I don't want to include code if I need permission. I also want to plan out my entry for this challenge better than I did the last one. thanks, owlman.

if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 22nd May 2010 09:28
They're all free to use!

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 23rd May 2010 11:54
You can use anyone's code as long as you make it known in your code (just a remark saying something like "REM This bit is by @Mobiius")

owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 23rd May 2010 14:24 Edited at: 23rd May 2010 14:52
hey guys - thanks for clearing the situation .. I'll be sure to acknowledge the author if I use another person's code ..

if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 23rd May 2010 15:12
Just note that that perlin noise function used wasn't originally mine. It was by dark coder.

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
owlman
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2009
Location: Italy
Posted: 23rd May 2010 15:52
@Mobiius - I think dark coder is clearly recognised in your program - my question is just how to approach using other people's code - what etiquete is in place and how I'd get necessary permission ..

if effort>reward : gosub home : endif
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 23rd May 2010 19:47
Permission isn't needed if the code was posted on a forum. It's classed as open source. (Hey, if you don't want other people to use it, don't post it on a public forum! lol) Etiquette dictates some credit will suffice. (Which is why I put some credit in my source) simple mention of the original author will do.

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
IBOL
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 25th May 2010 03:34
yep,use away.
i am so not a graphics guy, so i won't be in this one.
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 25th May 2010 12:56
Quote: "i am so not a graphics guy, so i won't be in this one. "


Just give it a try !!

chs.

I'm not a grumpy grandpa
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 25th May 2010 13:52
It's not the look of the scene, it's the having a go which counts!

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 27th May 2010 10:08
I kinda get the impression no-one wants to enter this one. Shall I change the challenge?

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-16 05:43:55
Your offset time is: 2024-04-16 05:43:55