Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Showcase / [WIP]Star flight: Star Rogue progress...

Author
Message
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 29th Dec 2017 17:24
After more than sixteen years and numerous prototypes I have now found the light that is AGK2, to this end I am recoding parts of Star Flight 2000 from Dark basic Classic to AGK2.

This thread will be a progress report on the whole process and how far it's getting. With AGK2 I intend to release the the game on all targets available

More soon...
-EdzUp
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 29th Dec 2017 18:38
Cool any images?
Of project you are porting
Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
MikeHart
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posted: 30th Dec 2017 19:31
Don't forget to post regulary or this topic will be closed because of inactivity.
Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200. Using AGK2 Tier 1.
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 30th Dec 2017 21:45
Quote: "Cool any images?
Of project you are porting "

look at www.edzup.co.uk/images/sf2000.zip

I've almost completed the star system importer then I can move to generating a sector
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 2nd Jan 2018 19:55
Well now I have finished the star system loader which has taken a little longer than expected due to the xmas festivities I can now move onto basic star system sector generation

During my coding sessions I noticed I wasnt loading anything which was a puzzle until I realised ReadLine was required instead of ReadString (DOH!)

On the whole I will be posting some piccies when I have something to show at present all it that will be there is the new 'debug' system so I can see whats going on in the game (basically just text)
-EdzUp
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2018 09:17
Two debug windows are the first thing I add to projects! I use one that scrolls down so you can see historical values and one that updates on abler line basis.
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 12th Jan 2018 16:53
yeah it's a handy thing to have, I will definately dive into coding this one. Time is more limited due to I work full time but it will get done
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 16th Jan 2018 11:09
Well a little update:
I now have the galaxy map loader done so I just have the race loader to do then I can generate the first sector of space on the whole it's quite nice coding using AGK. Having coded using DBClassic and DBPro back in the day this does feel easier

I'm working on a parser system now so I have less coding to do for everything making like easier and I'm looking forward to getting my first flight tests up and ready

More soon...
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 24th Jan 2018 11:55
Well all the main loaders are down there is only the racial files to do not so I am going to use my coding time now to make the sector generator once that's in I can post some pictures
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 28th Jan 2018 20:38


My first asteroid field test, yes its not complete and they are the old meshes BUT I intend to make the asteroid fields MUCH bigger and more fun to explore. Who knows what you will find out there
-EdzUp
Ron Erickson
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posted: 29th Jan 2018 20:46
EdzUp!...... That's a name from wayyyyy back.

Good luck with porting to AGK2!
a.k.a WOLF!
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 30th Jan 2018 10:27
Thanks

Yeah Star flight 2000 doesn't run well on today's machines it's slow as anything, back in the day we got 30fps all the time.
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 30th Jan 2018 10:56


As you can see the asteroid field is getting much more dense, compared to the last pic this asteroid field encompases the ENTIRE sector and each asteroid is 100x bigger than the last ones. There will be other things that will be added for example the space dust will contain small rocks and there will be small asteroids and boulders making there way through the sector as well. Everything has been in the planning stage for many years and after eighteen years its time to bring it back .

Also the basic background is in there as well
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 27th Feb 2018 12:13 Edited at: 27th Feb 2018 12:14


Early test of flight controls, since taking the video I now have a infinite asteroid field
-EdzUp
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 3rd Mar 2018 09:17
That looks like fun; quite pleasing to observe.
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 6th Mar 2018 14:09


Now has the basics of infinite space and some more pleasing if untextured at present asteroids
-EdzUp
PSY
AGK Developer
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2016
Location: Laniakea Supercluster
Posted: 6th Mar 2018 18:43
This last video is really nice ^^


PSY LABS Games
Coders don't die, they just gosub without return
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 6th Mar 2018 18:50
@Psy labs:Thanks
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 14th Mar 2018 10:39


Finally starting to look like a asteroid field now, all I have to do now is space dust, rogue asteroids, collision and backing items.

After all that it's onto npc's
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 08:05
I am currently playing with the generation system to allow me to make nebulae, asteroid fields and mine fields. Also I can adjust the density of it all and other factors for the whole thing.

I will post some videos of it all when I have the new stuff ready to show
-EdzUp
MikeHart
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 09:19
Looking good, gives a nice feeling floating through that asteroid field.
Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200. Using AGK2 Tier 1.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 10:12
Last video looks very nice
This will be some massive Project
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 10:48
Thanks guys yes it will be a huge development but one that will setup a franchise for EdzUp I intend to develop this for years to come after initial release.
-EdzUp
Santman
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 11:50
Starting to look really nice. How many asteroids are you handling there?
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 11:54
that's a thousand asteroids in that sector on the whole I am adding space dust so we can see how fast were going and getting all the other stellar stuff done. After all that it's onto NPCs
-EdzUp
Santman
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 13:06
Very curious to see where it's going....since changing to 3d is rely very close to my own project, though I focus on movement internally in the ship and planet side for now.
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 13:09
At present the game will be more like SF2000 but will be expanded later.
-EdzUp
GarBenjamin
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 23rd Mar 2018 17:11
Awesome asteroid field although I thought some would be rotating and moving locally?
TI/994a (BASIC) -> C64 (BASIC/PASCAL/ASM/Others) -> Amiga (AMOS/BLITZ/ASM/C/Gamesmith) -> DOS (C/C++/Allegro) -> Windows (C++/C#/Monkey X/GL Basic/Unity/Others)
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 24th Mar 2018 07:42
GarBenjamin: those are to come I was plotting out the whole field.
-EdzUp
GarBenjamin
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 24th Mar 2018 17:53
@EdzUp ah that makes complete sense... focusing on one step at a time.
TI/994a (BASIC) -> C64 (BASIC/PASCAL/ASM/Others) -> Amiga (AMOS/BLITZ/ASM/C/Gamesmith) -> DOS (C/C++/Allegro) -> Windows (C++/C#/Monkey X/GL Basic/Unity/Others)
MikeHart
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 11:57
Ed, is it Tier1 or Tier2 you use?
Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200. Using AGK2 Tier 1.
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 13:02
I'm using Tier 1 at present I do have Tier 2 but I want to see what AppGameKit can do before diving into C++ for it.
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 16th Apr 2018 17:29 Edited at: 17th Apr 2018 09:50
Update: Still working on this and looking at the original design docs for it and using those will post some more screens as I have them. New version will return to 2d with lighting effects

Time is a little short of late with work commitments but I'm still coding .
-EdzUp
MikeHart
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posted: 17th Apr 2018 07:45
Why do you keep constantly changing from 2d to 3d to 2d?
Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200. Using AGK2 Tier 1.
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 17th Apr 2018 08:11 Edited at: 17th Apr 2018 09:04
Technology constraints at present, my old laptop struggles with SR as it is (12-15fps) and I haven't added NPC''s and collision yet. I could simplify the sectors more but 2d would reduce rendering by a huge amount.

EDIT: I have a plan which might work and give me the same visual appeal even on my aging tech I will test this before jumping to 2d as I agree 3d does look pretty
-EdzUp
MikeHart
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posted: 17th Apr 2018 13:14
What system do you run and how many polys do you want to render?
Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200. Using AGK2 Tier 1.
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 17th Apr 2018 13:21 Edited at: 17th Apr 2018 16:14
Currently I code on a Sony Vaio Intel M330 laptop, Intel GPU, 8 Gb RAM (128Mb vram shared), and windows 10.

This one https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/laptop-pc-vpc-series/vpceb1e0e/specifications

I have managed to get the fps upto 26-30fps which is surprising with some tweaking of the settings etc. We also have a i5 PC but that's a family PC which I don't get much time on that. I will continue beavering away at 3d as it does look really nice and I love flying around in it and can't wait to add more to it .

I have converted the random system and I'm 40% of the way through space dust this will make it look MUCH better and even more so when background stuff also gets added and lighting is correctly positioned
-EdzUp
MikeHart
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posted: 17th Apr 2018 21:02
Yes 3d gives a much better feeling in such a game.
Running Windows 7 Home, 64 bit, 8 GB ram, Athlon II X2 255, ATI Radeon HD 4200. Using AGK2 Tier 1.
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 17th Apr 2018 22:00

Alpha 0.4 Nebulae test, take into account this nebulae is at maximum density so is VERY VERY thick there will be others that are just wisps of cloud etc. All colours and lighting are customisable.


Alpha 0.4 Space dust test
-EdzUp
EdzUp
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Citadel Cyberspace
Posted: 24th Apr 2018 10:07
FIXED: A glitch in nebulae generation now I can colour it how I want and it's perfect and to any density

ADDED: Asteroid angles these were randomised completely by the system now I can specify angles for some REALLY WEIRD systems.

FIXED: Control system now allows the first left click to mark the center and all dragging around is the flight control. Releasing the mouse stops the flight system till next click. This is for mobile devices which the game runs on now at 30fps

NEXT: Collision I want this in there then I will move on to backing details and getting it all looking right.
-EdzUp

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-04-24 13:25:22
Your offset time is: 2018-04-24 13:25:22